Dan Murphys Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Chivas Regal Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Chivas Regal Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

From the oldest operating distillery in the Scottish Highlands, Chivas Regal has been famous for its extraordinary selection of malt Whiskies. Matured for 12 years the result is a rich and generous Whisky with honey and hazelnut notes and a long creamy finish. Chivas Regal is the perfect gift for all occasions.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
0
18 out of 2475% ()
of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL
Review 1 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Bland, and....bland...

Posted18 December 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Happy Sipper
from Gold Coast, Qld
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Although favoured by a friend, I found this whisky to be bland, beige and boring. A little bit of sweet, a little bit of smoke, inoffensive and forgettable. Even as a sipper there are better options in this price range, doesn't taste like it's twelve years old.
Pros: available everywhere
Cons: uninspiring
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Not Bad

Posted6 December 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Badger101
from Counry nsw
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not a bad drop, Easy drinker,I like it with a small splash of water. Nice and simple, not over the top. Not the best ive had but good for the price.
Pros: easy drinker
Cons: not the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Typical blend

Posted25 November 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
MaccaF1
from Sydney, Australia
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tried this the other day... I don't know how people like it when there's single malts at the same price. This blend is very harsh and over complex, as opposed to having "depth". Why, when there's Glenlivet 12 at the same price? Why?... I guess it's only good for a mixer.
Pros: none
Cons: terrible experience
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Losing its appeal

Posted1 September 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Emeritus Professor
from Lesmurdie, Western Australia
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This used to be one of the great whiskies many years ago, but has lost its charm compared to the single malts and blends that are currently available. It is rather bland these days.
Pros: old standard
Cons: rather bland
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Good but pricey

Posted26 June 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
RottieBoy
from Melbourne
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Unsophisticated in flavour, but smooth. I enjoyed it better on ice rather than neat, much better choices for that. Really good for mixing. I think it's probably a bit on the pricey side for what it is.
Pros: smooth, good mixer or on ice
Cons: a bit pricey for what it is, lacking depth
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Great for mixing

Posted23 April 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
StandUpandShout
from Mooloolaba QLD
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I drink Chivas Regal 12 year often but only as a mixer with dry, its very refreshing and pleasant as a mix drink. To drink straight - neat or on the rocks no thanks, like Jim Beam, Jack Daniels, Barcardi great to mix with but to drink straight, not to good.
When drunk straight it feels cheap with out the cheap price tag. I recommend this if you like to mix your drinks.
Happy Drinking
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Its ok

Posted7 March 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
gordlorn
from Bonbeach
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nothing special here. I find it to be quite a plain and simple scotch. Not much body and a bit of a cheap taste for the $40 price tag. There are FAR better options on the market. Try some others!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Easy drinking but nothing special

Posted11 September 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Wheedus
from The suburbs, Melbourne
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Chivas 12 is an easy drinking, inoffensive blended scotch which does the job. There's certainly nothing wrong with it but by the same token, there's not really anything special either.
In a way, it's the Maker's Mark of scotch. That may have something to do with the grainy finish.
For that money and for something a little more distinctive and interesting , you'd be better trying one of reasonably priced single malts and save a little coin on a Ballantines 12 for your every day blended scotch.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Rather ordinary

Posted24 July 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Wee Willie
from Sydney
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Mild vanilla fudge and raisins leading to a grainy finish. I'd much rather Teachers or JW Black as an every day blend, but that's just me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

tasty but may as well get 70cl

Posted21 June 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tomas
from Sydney NSW, Australia
Age: 18-19
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a really smooth whiskey with a great flavour hit to it especially comparing it to other 12 year old blends around the same price mark. Nice on the nose and doesn't burn the too badly either. Large variety of different flavours on the tounge which doesnt seem to have an after taste. Great product, however if you pay an extra half (almost) you can get the 70cl bottle which is excellent value.
Pros: one of the best around the price range
Cons: should be a bit cheaper considering the 70cl bottl
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Best of the best for value and taste

Posted5 May 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Macca
from Guildford West
Age: 50-59
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What better way to enjoy scotch than straight up or on the rocks. Chivas Regal is smooth, warm and on the rocks is fresh and chilling.
Pros: great taste, colour perfect
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

good blend

Posted21 April 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Joe
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good blend in this class, good smoke, however not worth that much cost
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

This is the one for everyone

Posted25 February 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
dom
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is very smooth and easy to drink, even bourbon drinkers may like it. A real quality scotch for special occasions or if you want to spoil yourself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

ilovemclarenvaleandclareshiraz

Posted12 November 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
ilovemclarenvaleandclareshiraz
from Aireys Inlet Victoria
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An every day favourite at a great price. Always good to have in the home bar, not too precious to worry about if your friends get a bit thirsty. An old faithful. Don'y worry about it being a blend.
Pros: great price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Right price, quite nice.

Posted3 November 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Winston Warhope
from Blue Mountains
Age: 20-29
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nothing like the top-line Chivas range in porcelain but perfect for scotch & coke enthusiasts.
The build up of bitter rye, after-flavours will stop you from having too much neat.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

easy drinking

Posted8 September 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
larch
from morisset
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
you won't need ice or water with this one its the smoothest around for little money.a good one to have in the cupboard at the ready.
Pros: smooth
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Smooth Blend

Posted15 June 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Pete
from Perth, Australia
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It certainly can't compete with a single malt, but I think this fits nicely into that introduction range for blended scotch whisky. It is very sweet smelling, and has a distinctive sweet after taste. I don't enjoy this all that much in comparission with JW Double Black, which currently retails for $10-20 more. That is however in another class all together, I think it overall is a good well rounded scotch which does sit quite nicely, slightly better than most entry level blends. Mixes well with the usual ginger beer, lemonade, soda water etc. but enhances the sweetness.
Pros: reasonable price, well presented packaging and bottle
Cons: slightly sweet
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Great everyday scotch

Posted23 March 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Masonic
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like Johnnie Walker Black Label, this is better and you will never get sick of it. No hangovers as long as you don't mix any softdrinks like schoolkids do!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Regal? No. Shivers? Yes!

Posted11 December 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mr. Edwards
from Toowoomba QLD
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Is this the best scotch ever? No. Better than Johnnie Walker black? Absolutely! At this price, considering the fact it is blended, it is a very good buy.
Not nearly as interesting as Johnnie Walker Double Black or Perhaps Dimple 15, but certainly a good scotch for those on a budget, or simply those who want to pick up some wine or vodka while they are shopping too and dont want to blow the whole wad on Glenfiddich!
A touch of vanilla, smoke and peat. Nice tingle afterwards and not as much 'pepperyness' so often associated with some of the 'rougher' blends. A great candidate for scotch on the rocks, if ever I found one! At under $40, its a steal.
Pros: price
Cons: blended
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
21of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

One smooth Blend

Posted24 November 2011
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
moy71
from Sydney, Aust.
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a very easy-drinking, not too pricey blended scotch whisky.
Nothing harsh, just a smooth (if not rather bland) excellently marketed whisky that you can drink after a hard day's work.
I love the smokey and vanilla notes on this 12yo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
8of 17voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>