Dan Murphys Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Chivas Regal Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Chivas Regal Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

From the oldest operating distillery in the Scottish Highlands, Chivas Regal has been famous for its extraordinary selection of malt Whiskies. Matured for 12 years the result is a rich and generous Whisky with honey and hazelnut notes and a long creamy finish. Chivas Regal is the perfect gift for all occasions.
Average Customer Rating:
3.967 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
0
21 out of 2875% ()
of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL
Review 1 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

We love our Chivas

Posted14 June 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Blacktown NSW
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife & myself enjoy having a nice Chivas after work. It helps to relax after a hard days work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Easy to deink

Posted29 June 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Brisbane QLD, Australia
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great place to start for the whisky drinker. Easy on the tongue and nose. I have this as my everyday drink as it represents a cost effective way to enjoy my whisky and I don't fly through my $100 bottles!
Pros: easy to drink, value for money
Cons: not overly complex flavor
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Great classic

Posted25 January 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Brisbane QLD, Australia
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When wanting a whiskey with a somewhat good vintage year and good flavour. Chivas Regal has always been just that
Pros: price, vintage year, flavour
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Bland, and....bland...

Posted18 December 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Gold Coast, Qld
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Although favoured by a friend, I found this whisky to be bland, beige and boring. A little bit of sweet, a little bit of smoke, inoffensive and forgettable. Even as a sipper there are better options in this price range, doesn't taste like it's twelve years old.
Pros: available everywhere
Cons: uninspiring
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Not Bad

Posted6 December 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Counry nsw
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not a bad drop, Easy drinker,I like it with a small splash of water. Nice and simple, not over the top. Not the best ive had but good for the price.
Pros: easy drinker
Cons: not the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Typical blend

Posted25 November 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sydney, Australia
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tried this the other day... I don't know how people like it when there's single malts at the same price. This blend is very harsh and over complex, as opposed to having "depth". Why, when there's Glenlivet 12 at the same price? Why?... I guess it's only good for a mixer.
Pros: none
Cons: terrible experience
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

The Bland King

Posted9 January 2015
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
from sydney
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I understand how this one became so well known, its easy to drink and not offensive but you just don't get any flavour or story from your glass. Plain and simple a basic malt that can easily be beaten by the single malt standards e.g. Glenfiddich, Aberlour, glenlivet. Give it as a present to those that don't know and to those that do know look elsewhere.
Pros: not pricey
Cons: flavour(lack there of), boring
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Losing its appeal

Posted1 September 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Lesmurdie, Western Australia
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This used to be one of the great whiskies many years ago, but has lost its charm compared to the single malts and blends that are currently available. It is rather bland these days.
Pros: old standard
Cons: rather bland
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Good but pricey

Posted26 June 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Unsophisticated in flavour, but smooth. I enjoyed it better on ice rather than neat, much better choices for that. Really good for mixing. I think it's probably a bit on the pricey side for what it is.
Pros: smooth, good mixer or on ice
Cons: a bit pricey for what it is, lacking depth
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Great for mixing

Posted23 April 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Mooloolaba QLD
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I drink Chivas Regal 12 year often but only as a mixer with dry, its very refreshing and pleasant as a mix drink. To drink straight - neat or on the rocks no thanks, like Jim Beam, Jack Daniels, Barcardi great to mix with but to drink straight, not to good.
When drunk straight it feels cheap with out the cheap price tag. I recommend this if you like to mix your drinks.
Happy Drinking
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Its ok

Posted7 March 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Bonbeach
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nothing special here. I find it to be quite a plain and simple scotch. Not much body and a bit of a cheap taste for the $40 price tag. There are FAR better options on the market. Try some others!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Easy drinking but nothing special

Posted11 September 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from The suburbs, Melbourne
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Chivas 12 is an easy drinking, inoffensive blended scotch which does the job. There's certainly nothing wrong with it but by the same token, there's not really anything special either.
In a way, it's the Maker's Mark of scotch. That may have something to do with the grainy finish.
For that money and for something a little more distinctive and interesting , you'd be better trying one of reasonably priced single malts and save a little coin on a Ballantines 12 for your every day blended scotch.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Rather ordinary

Posted24 July 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sydney
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Mild vanilla fudge and raisins leading to a grainy finish. I'd much rather Teachers or JW Black as an every day blend, but that's just me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
9of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

tasty but may as well get 70cl

Posted21 June 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sydney NSW, Australia
Age: 18-19
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a really smooth whiskey with a great flavour hit to it especially comparing it to other 12 year old blends around the same price mark. Nice on the nose and doesn't burn the too badly either. Large variety of different flavours on the tounge which doesnt seem to have an after taste. Great product, however if you pay an extra half (almost) you can get the 70cl bottle which is excellent value.
Pros: one of the best around the price range
Cons: should be a bit cheaper considering the 70cl bottl
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Best of the best for value and taste

Posted5 May 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Guildford West
Age: 50-59
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What better way to enjoy scotch than straight up or on the rocks. Chivas Regal is smooth, warm and on the rocks is fresh and chilling.
Pros: great taste, colour perfect
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

good blend

Posted21 April 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good blend in this class, good smoke, however not worth that much cost
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

This is the one for everyone

Posted25 February 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is very smooth and easy to drink, even bourbon drinkers may like it. A real quality scotch for special occasions or if you want to spoil yourself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

ilovemclarenvaleandclareshiraz

Posted12 November 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Aireys Inlet Victoria
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An every day favourite at a great price. Always good to have in the home bar, not too precious to worry about if your friends get a bit thirsty. An old faithful. Don'y worry about it being a blend.
Pros: great price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Right price, quite nice.

Posted3 November 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Blue Mountains
Age: 20-29
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nothing like the top-line Chivas range in porcelain but perfect for scotch & coke enthusiasts.
The build up of bitter rye, after-flavours will stop you from having too much neat.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

easy drinking

Posted8 September 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from morisset
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
you won't need ice or water with this one its the smoothest around for little money.a good one to have in the cupboard at the ready.
Pros: smooth
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>