Dan Murphys Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Chivas Regal Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Chivas Regal Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

From the oldest operating distillery in the Scottish Highlands, Chivas Regal has been famous for its extraordinary selection of malt Whiskies. Matured for 12 years the result is a rich and generous Whisky with honey and hazelnut notes and a long creamy finish. Chivas Regal is the perfect gift for all occasions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.043 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
16 out of 2176% ()
of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL
Review 1 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Good but pricey

Posted26 June 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
RottieBoy
from Melbourne
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Unsophisticated in flavour, but smooth. I enjoyed it better on ice rather than neat, much better choices for that. Really good for mixing. I think it's probably a bit on the pricey side for what it is.
Pros: smooth, good mixer or on ice
Cons: a bit pricey for what it is, lacking depth
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Great for mixing

Posted23 April 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
StandUpandShout
from Mooloolaba QLD
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I drink Chivas Regal 12 year often but only as a mixer with dry, its very refreshing and pleasant as a mix drink. To drink straight - neat or on the rocks no thanks, like Jim Beam, Jack Daniels, Barcardi great to mix with but to drink straight, not to good.
When drunk straight it feels cheap with out the cheap price tag. I recommend this if you like to mix your drinks.
Happy Drinking
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Its ok

Posted7 March 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
gordlorn
from Bonbeach
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nothing special here. I find it to be quite a plain and simple scotch. Not much body and a bit of a cheap taste for the $40 price tag. There are FAR better options on the market. Try some others!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Easy drinking but nothing special

Posted11 September 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Wheedus
from The suburbs, Melbourne
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Chivas 12 is an easy drinking, inoffensive blended scotch which does the job. There's certainly nothing wrong with it but by the same token, there's not really anything special either.
In a way, it's the Maker's Mark of scotch. That may have something to do with the grainy finish.
For that money and for something a little more distinctive and interesting , you'd be better trying one of reasonably priced single malts and save a little coin on a Ballantines 12 for your every day blended scotch.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Rather ordinary

Posted24 July 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Wee Willie
from Sydney
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Mild vanilla fudge and raisins leading to a grainy finish. I'd much rather Teachers or JW Black as an every day blend, but that's just me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

tasty but may as well get 70cl

Posted21 June 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tomas
from Sydney NSW, Australia
Age: 18-19
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a really smooth whiskey with a great flavour hit to it especially comparing it to other 12 year old blends around the same price mark. Nice on the nose and doesn't burn the too badly either. Large variety of different flavours on the tounge which doesnt seem to have an after taste. Great product, however if you pay an extra half (almost) you can get the 70cl bottle which is excellent value.
Pros: one of the best around the price range
Cons: should be a bit cheaper considering the 70cl bottl
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

My First Spirit

Posted6 May 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mickey
from Sydney
Age: 18-19
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is the first Spirit I have ever had. I'm not sure if it was because I wasn't used to spirits, but it was the worst tasting alcohol I have ever had. I literally couldn't put it in my mouth after the first drink because the alcohol was way too overpowering, also the fact that I did not like the taste at all. It has put me off scotch Whisky, I might eventually make a return but I can't see it happening soon.
After not drinking very much I was drunk.
Cons: disgusting taste, overpowering, drunk quickly
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-118points
4of 126voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Best of the best for value and taste

Posted5 May 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Macca
from Guildford West
Age: 50-59
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What better way to enjoy scotch than straight up or on the rocks. Chivas Regal is smooth, warm and on the rocks is fresh and chilling.
Pros: great taste, colour perfect
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

good blend

Posted21 April 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Joe
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good blend in this class, good smoke, however not worth that much cost
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

This is the one for everyone

Posted25 February 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
dom
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is very smooth and easy to drink, even bourbon drinkers may like it. A real quality scotch for special occasions or if you want to spoil yourself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

ilovemclarenvaleandclareshiraz

Posted12 November 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
ilovemclarenvaleandclareshiraz
from Aireys Inlet Victoria
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An every day favourite at a great price. Always good to have in the home bar, not too precious to worry about if your friends get a bit thirsty. An old faithful. Don'y worry about it being a blend.
Pros: great price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Right price, quite nice.

Posted3 November 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Winston Warhope
from Blue Mountains
Age: 20-29
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nothing like the top-line Chivas range in porcelain but perfect for scotch & coke enthusiasts.
The build up of bitter rye, after-flavours will stop you from having too much neat.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

easy drinking

Posted8 September 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
larch
from morisset
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
you won't need ice or water with this one its the smoothest around for little money.a good one to have in the cupboard at the ready.
Pros: smooth
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Smooth Blend

Posted15 June 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Pete
from Perth, Australia
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It certainly can't compete with a single malt, but I think this fits nicely into that introduction range for blended scotch whisky. It is very sweet smelling, and has a distinctive sweet after taste. I don't enjoy this all that much in comparission with JW Double Black, which currently retails for $10-20 more. That is however in another class all together, I think it overall is a good well rounded scotch which does sit quite nicely, slightly better than most entry level blends. Mixes well with the usual ginger beer, lemonade, soda water etc. but enhances the sweetness.
Pros: reasonable price, well presented packaging and bottle
Cons: slightly sweet
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Great everyday scotch

Posted23 March 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Masonic
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like Johnnie Walker Black Label, this is better and you will never get sick of it. No hangovers as long as you don't mix any softdrinks like schoolkids do!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Regal? No. Shivers? Yes!

Posted11 December 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mr. Edwards
from Toowoomba QLD
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Is this the best scotch ever? No. Better than Johnnie Walker black? Absolutely! At this price, considering the fact it is blended, it is a very good buy.
Not nearly as interesting as Johnnie Walker Double Black or Perhaps Dimple 15, but certainly a good scotch for those on a budget, or simply those who want to pick up some wine or vodka while they are shopping too and dont want to blow the whole wad on Glenfiddich!
A touch of vanilla, smoke and peat. Nice tingle afterwards and not as much 'pepperyness' so often associated with some of the 'rougher' blends. A great candidate for scotch on the rocks, if ever I found one! At under $40, its a steal.
Pros: price
Cons: blended
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
21of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

One smooth Blend

Posted24 November 2011
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
moy71
from Sydney, Aust.
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a very easy-drinking, not too pricey blended scotch whisky.
Nothing harsh, just a smooth (if not rather bland) excellently marketed whisky that you can drink after a hard day's work.
I love the smokey and vanilla notes on this 12yo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
8of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

Best value Scotch available

Posted2 November 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
WhiskyGuy
from Cairns, FNQ, Australia
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a remorseless, unrepentant and habitual Scotch quaffer over many decades, in my experience this is the best value, quaffable Scotch that money can buy. Sure, it's not quite as interesting as the usually much more expensive single malts. So if money is no object and you really want to explore the world of Scotch whiskies, then you may not want to stick to Chivas Regal 12 Year Old blend. Nonetheless, for those of us who like to quaff decent amounts of a half-decent Scotch at a single sitting without worrying over much about the effect on our bank balance, nothing beats this blend for quality and value*, especially of course when it's on special.
After Chivas Regal 12 Year Old, Johnny Walker Black is perhaps the next best, widely available mainstream 12-year-old blend in this price range, and will do at a pinch if CR 12yr isn't available for any reason. Given the choice, however, I believe that most whisky drinkers on a blind taste would rate CR 12yr a fair bit ahead of JW Black.
If an international airline doesn't serve free Chivas Regal 12 Year Old on-board, then I won't fly with 'em. Drink it on the rocks, walk around in between shots, rehydrate and never suffer jet lag.
(* Even so, sigh, it's true that the whisky bills soon mount up. Hence, for those Scotch drinkers really on a budget, I recommend Famous Grouse, Teacher's, or Ballantine's, depending on what's on special.)
Pros: good value, very quaffable, found world-wide
Cons: obviously lacks the variety found in single malts, pricier than the best budget whiskies, a bit overpriced here in oz
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
18of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

The best and first blended Scotch

Posted30 October 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Beerluver234
from Melbourne, Australia
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm not going to write sentences on how good Chivas Scotch is. The best way to find out is to buy a bottle and taste for yourself. The Chivas brothers invented Scotch blending and set the standard for Scotch whisky, which is seldom reached by others. Apparently there is a bottle of Chivas opened somewhere on the planet every 7 seconds. I for one believe it!
Pros: set the standard
Cons: almost no competition
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
10of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Chivas Regal 12 Year Old Scotch Whisky 700mL

A classic scotch with a well earned reputation

Posted4 October 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Cocktailer
from Canberra, Australia
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chivas Regal is a classic and rightly so, for it maintains a flavour that is approachable to most scotch drinkers. While this is the inherent advantage of a blended scotch whisky it has managed to avoid the pitfall of Johnnie Walker. That is relying more on its name than quality in later years. A full but inviting nose coupled with a subdued yet firm mouth feel make the opening taste of Chivas Regal an enjoyable experience.
Flavours of mild peat follow with a slightly rugged Speyside that finishes with a milder Highland-esque denouement. This makes for an enjoyable dram. Best enjoyed with a single cube of ice to dilute and allow the whisky some space to breathe. A chilled glass might be best for those who baulk at the thought of destroying whisky with water but with an entry level scotch such as this, who is counting? Highly recommended as a go-to scotch and an excellent gift idea for a friend.
Pros: classic uncompromising taste, palate that is complete but not aggressive, enjoyable neat/on ice, quality at a good price
Cons: none that spring to mind
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
8of 17voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>