Dan Murphys Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Dan Murphys
Shop Cabernet Merlot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Cleanskins Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

Cleanskins Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

Attractive blackcurrant fruit characters are well matched with toasty oak in this easy drinking blend which delivers outstanding value for money.
Average Customer Rating:
3.88 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
21 out of 2488% ()
of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot
Review 1 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

You get what you pay for !

Posted14 July 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Hyphen
from Hobart
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Vintage: 2013
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fruit and acid, lacking integration. A bit too cask-like for my taste. Unbelievably cheap though, and inoffensive in a simple sort of way. If I were still a student and wanting something cheap to go with pizza, it could be just the thing.
Pros: cheap
Cons: too cheap
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

WOW VALUE FOR MONEY!

Posted3 January 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Martin
from Brisbane, Australia
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Vintage: 2012
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth, easy to drink, soft yet also light spicy taste maybe? Not much aftertaste or aroma, however great price.
Pros: price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

Unbelievable value - like the new wines from long ago, on the farm,

Posted8 July 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
David
from Bunbury
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Vintage: 2012
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very refreshing and pleasant to drink - light, brisk and youthful. This brought back memories of ling ago; the new wine on the farm in Auvergne -- except for the colour - that was purple, and stained the mouth - this is light red - not a wishy-washy lightness but a vivacious one.
Pros: frisky, not a big deal just lovely, gently full of flavour
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

Pleasantly surprised!

Posted18 May 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Ty
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Vintage: 2012
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I originally tried this $3 merlot for a laugh but was pleasantly surprised when i actually tasted it,just goes down so smooth especially after decanting an hour before drinking.
Pros: smoothness, value
Cons: it's a clean skin so people think you're bum lol
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

Becomes Velvet with age

Posted30 April 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mr Bear Snr
from Perth
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Vintage: Non Vintage
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Put the cartons in a cool dry place on their side for 12 months. We have done this since buying our first bottles from the then new, Albany Store. 2 years is better if you can wait that long.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

ewwww

Posted28 March 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Witjuti
from Eudunda
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Oxidized and putrid !
I wouldn't expect much but good grief there should be legislation against bottling off wine !
Pros: cheap pest pray for the garden !
Cons: waste of a good glass bottle
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

Good One

Posted22 March 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Just me
from Sydney
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This kind of wine may vary a little but def worth $3. It's much better than any $12 or $ 16 bottle. When I tried I was surprised. It does the job! Viva Oz Cleanskins! Aloha!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

Great product

Posted11 December 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bob
from Melbourne
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I suspect a little wine snobbery in some of the reviews. This wine is easy to drink and excellent value. I just keep buying it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

Fair, for the money

Posted20 November 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mr. Edwards
from Toowoomba QLD
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a big fan of Cab Merlot, this one isn't the greatest, but its a pretty fair example. But, like all things in life you get what you pay for. A well rounded Merlot is in there, helping to alleviate some of that woody punch in the face certain Cab Savs can have. Not bad for the backyard BBQ, or even to splash in the pasta sauce. Won't impress your friends, but it'll do the job!
Pros: cost
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

Get what you pay for

Posted14 November 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
GBBadgers12
from Gold Coast
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You definitely get what you pay for, I would definitely buy more if on a tight budget but if you have a few extra dollars to spend I would look elsewhere.
First glass was ok but after that i struggled to finish the bottle.
Pros: price
Cons: taste
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

a good economical buy

Posted30 October 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
bented
from perth
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm really pleased that Dan Murphy's has established in perth, as a pensioner
without a car they really are a great asset, the selection, costs all add up to
my benefits in the long run.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

Aromas of medicine & disinfectant

Posted4 September 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Django
from Perth
Age: 30-39
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really hoped this wine would stack up to its reviews, but I couldn't even finish my glass.
The price for this wine was unbelievable, so I bought a whole case based on the reviews and hoped for the best.
Unfortunately, I don't even think I can use it in pastas as it is such a light bodied red wine that it wouldn't do much to influence the flavour!
The smell is highly medicinal, which is the only word I can use to describe it, and although the flavour of the wine is passable once its in the mouth the aroma of it put me off so much it went down the sink instead. It really tastes like it became a cleanskin because something went very wrong in the manufacturing. I don't know whether the whole batch is like this or whether only some is, but unfortunately I now have a case I don't think I can drink.
Pros: price
Cons: aroma
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

cleanskinswe3 cabernet merlot

Posted8 August 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
tubby
from adelaide
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Okay I will be the odd one out yes it is cheap and yes it tastes cheap you get what you pay for I bought a bottle after reading the reviews high hopes but very average spend another $3 more and get yourself a bottle of Mcguians black label cab merlot say no more now that is a bargain
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

Value Plus

Posted8 June 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
terryjw
from Shaol Bay NSW
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is always hard to find a bad Aussie Red, This is very quaffable and excellent value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

Amazing price for an easy drinker

Posted29 April 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
kc
Age: 40-49
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Unlike other bargain basement drops, this one is soft and palatable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

Unbelievable

Posted8 April 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Willo
from Perth
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This silky Cab Merlot is an outstanding buy especially given it's price tag!
I bought this as a joke one day when I was on a shoestring budget, and as other reviewers have said, worst case scenario it could have been used for cooking. Nevertheless, it never has been used for cooking & I constantly enjoy giving friends a sample and asking them to guess the price range (dont show them the label/bottle!) and generally the reply is it tastes like a $15-$20 quality red.
This is an excellent buy and amazing that red can be produced to market for a basement budget of $2.99! Anyone that is hesitant, please buy one to try- I assure you you'll be back for a case, or two! ;-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

This is an excellent everyday wine at a super price.

Posted2 April 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Clara
from Perth, Australia
Age: 30-39
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have to be honest I was a little sceptical about buying something so cheap, despite its great reviews and decided that worse case scenario I could use it in cooking.
I was more than pleasantly surprised! It's a smooth, easy drinking red with no bitter after taste and really is fantastic value for money. I've tried far more expensive wines which don't even come close to this.
I've now ordered my second case and everyone we've given it to are now ordering it themselves.
Can highly recommend!
Pros: great value
Cons: too easy to drink
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

Great budget quaffer

Posted23 November 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bazil
from Warrnambool
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very pleasant surprise.
At this price I didn't hold great expectations.
I speculated and bought a box of these and very pleased that I did.
Cheese and bickies and a glass of this red - happy days.
Not a complicated wine with no great depth of character but what do you expect for this price.
The only negative, it seemed to make my wife fall asleep on the couch ;]
Pros: cheap & cheerful
Cons: too many makes you snore
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

Good value quaffing

Posted14 November 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
mijami
from Bunbury
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Better drinking than some renowned wines several times the price. A little harsh and thin but who is to complain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cleanskins WE3 Cabernet Merlot

You have to try this one....I have, for the last 2 years!!!!

Posted28 July 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
cmt195
from Sydney
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is one of the better budget Quaffing reds around. Great at barbeques or in front of the fire keeping warm and watching TV
Pros:
One of the better budget reds around, easy drinking, no bad after taste or hangover
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>