Dan Murphys Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Dan Murphys
Shop International Beer or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Grolsch Grolsch Premium Lager

Grolsch Grolsch Premium Lager

A lager with a distinctive, full bodied, crisp taste, fresh aroma and long delicate finish of bittersweet malt and hop notes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.1 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
7 out of 1070% ()
of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grolsch Premium Lager
Review 1 for Grolsch Premium Lager

Heineken-like?

Posted28 January 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
GreeneMachine
from QLD, Australia
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maybe it is just me but the Netherlands can do no wrong when it comes to beer. Tastes a little bit like Heineken (its more popular relative). It's bottle looks quite nice, but nothing too exciting. Has a similar bottle to Carlsberg (much better tasting though).
Pros: from the netherlands
Cons: too similar to the more common heineken
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grolsch Premium Lager

I Think I'm Turning Japanese, I really Think So!

Posted5 September 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Buai
from Townsville QLD.
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This Aussie Grolsch is really a Japanese-style dry lager with lots of rice malt, no color and no aromatics. You might as well buy Suntory since its cheaper.
This beer is similar to regular SP from New Guinea (Hieneken own SP), but SP is better since it has raskol strength hopping. (Export SP is quite different)
Pros: pretty bottle
Cons: fizzy sake
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grolsch Premium Lager

Best beer available

Posted1 March 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Occasional drinker
from Perth, Australia
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I do not drink a lot of beer but love this one. Would be happier if I could buy the lemon infused version here( it is available in the Netherlands) and having tried it this would be fantastic on a hot day as a thirst quenching drink
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grolsch Premium Lager

NOT RECOMMENDED

Posted2 March 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Doublespeeded
from sydney
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
sometimes i go on a Beer tasting spree at home.
i buy several different a single stubbies and compare.
This one i would rate the worst.
i possibly tried the Local brew but due to the bad experience with this brand, i wouldn't bother trying the imported one.
Pros: looks fancy
Cons: does not taste very good
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grolsch Premium Lager

Beware the aus made Grolsch

Posted10 January 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Eurobeer lover
from cairns
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The imported Grolsch is a fantastic tasting drop with no additives, the aus made Grolsch well, you may as well buy XXXX gold. Read the label carefully, it might have imported on it, but I found its made in aus from imported hops etc. Don't waste your money on the aus made golsch.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grolsch Premium Lager

I am getting tired of this "under the licence"

Posted12 November 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Johny
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It is the same story with the same consequences.It is not as good as original.Is there any good beer that Fosters have made?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grolsch Premium Lager

Rated 3.75 by The Dan Murphy Project

Posted10 November 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
TDMP
from Warrnambool
Boys getting lazy with their comments:
* One of the better European lagers
* Not smooth, sweet taste with an excellent after taste
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grolsch Premium Lager

Has to be FULLY IMPORTED

Posted7 November 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
LB31
from landManly , Queens
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I enjoy the FULLY IMPORTED Grolsch , but beware of the licensced stuff put together by CocaCola under liscense .The difference is like chalk ands cheese !!! Check the carton to see where it is branded :"IMPORTED"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grolsch Premium Lager

I really enjoy a beer or two at the end of a day's work.

Posted8 September 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bond..James Bond
from Canberra ACT
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently toured Ireland, UK and Europe where I enjoyed Grolsch on tap although I was not quite prepared for the pint glass...I quickly adapted. Having returned home to the ACT I was delighted to discover the "Dan" stocked Grolsch but shock horror to discover that it's a "local brew"..brewed in downtown Sydney. Not quite the same but never the less an enjoyable drop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grolsch Premium Lager

Was my favourite

Posted26 July 2011
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Peter
from Sutherland
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Grolsch used to be widely recognised as the worlds best beer, however the beer now produced 'under license' is nowhere near the quality of the fully imported beer. some cartons i have purchased in the last year have been flat as a tack ! so if you enjoy the taste of the 'real' stuff look for the original fully imported and not the the stuff made locally 'under license' !! read the labels carefully as they can be misleading !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.