Dan Murphys Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Johnnie Walker Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Johnnie Walker Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Johnnie Walker Double Black is the exciting and revolutionary new addition to the Johnnie Walker range. Double Black contains everything you already love about Johnnie Walker Black Label, with the intensity and complexity amplified. With the addition of deeper, darker malts from the Scottish west coast and the islands, Double Black delivers a unique smoky finish that sets it apart from the pack. Aromas of fresh citrus and vanilla come to the fore immediately. The best way to release this great nose is to add a small drop of pure water. On the palate, flavours of dark raisins, orange, clove and that unmistakable long, lingering, smoky finish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.035 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
40 out of 5277% ()
of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL
Review 1 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Good value for the flavour

Posted15 April 2016
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Perth, Australia
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Johnnie Walker whiskies have never been amongst my go-to spirits. However, after having tasted Double Black, I have since changed my stance, at least for this specific line in their range of whiskies.
Always having been partial to whisky with the peaty, smoky flavour, I was delighted to find that THIS is the Johnnie Walker I could thoroughly enjoy for that type of flavour whilst on a budget. Far from being an Ardbeg or Caol Ila, the Double Black possesses enough of the smoky finish to satisfy my inclination toward that particular type of whisky for a reasonable sum.
Pros: affordable, satisfying flavour
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Great introduction to peated whisky

Posted20 December 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love Double Black - Diageo's belated response to the growing interest in peated malts; this is a really great introduction to peated whiskies for those not familiar with the genre - not too strongly peated (I'd guess the phenols at around 15 - 20ppm) and very good value for money. I own around 70 whiskies and always have a bottle of Double Black open.
Light smoke dominates the nose and the palate shows elements of spice and honey nicely balanced with the Caol Ila peat; a nice long, lingering finish with no sign of a cheap alcohol bite.
Pros: great example of a lightly peated whisky
Cons: silly and confusing name
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Bang for buck

Posted2 December 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sydney
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Islay lite" - fantastic smokiness and character for a JW blend, and really a big step up from Red and Black labels. If you are a fan of Laphroig and other peated whiskies, then do yourself a favour and get some JW DB. From what I understand Caol Ila and Bowmore are some of the major components of this blend, and if you're not a single malt snob you should really enjoy this one.
Do not mix it with Coke unless you are a Philistine.
Pros: smokey, smooth, value for money
Cons: not quite character of more exxy islays
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

great

Posted22 November 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from harrvey
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice and well priced and professional to deal with
Pros: professional, great
Cons: nil
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Good Value for money

Posted1 November 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The combination of good price and free delivery was unbeatable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Smoky and Peaty, take me to a Barbie (BBQ)

Posted24 October 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Perth WA, Australia
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On the nose: Vanilla, Smoke and Fire, Raisins and Fruit
Palate: From the initial hit, you get the smoke, the burnt toffee, raisins and lingering sweetness of vanilla caramel. Smooth but raw with a complexity that is not your typical Johnnie Walker.
Overall: JW does an awesome job blending a combination of malts from distilleries such as Caol Isla, Talisker and another Highlander (Oban?). The double black pulls off a very good dram for price. Definitely one to keep over an open fire or BBQ.
My go to is a Laphroaig 10yo and i am a non smoker. Tastes are subjective, but this JW Double Black is in my opinion great value with a taste profile that is enjoyable.
Pros: color bottling price
Cons: not many
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

One of my favourite smokey whiskies

Posted30 September 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Adelaide
Age: 20-29
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
During a routine visit to Uncle Dan's, I noticed both the Black Label and Double Black of the Johnnie Walker brand on special. I decided to buy one bottle, but not both. Many friends had told me not to buy the Double Black as the smokiness and peat was overpowering. However, being a massive fan of peat-driven whiskies, I thought YOLO (you only live once), and purchased the double black. After the first mouthful, I fell in love. If you're a lover of intense whiskies, particularly blends, chances are you'll love it too.
Pros: smokey and peaty if you love that
Cons: smokey and peatey if you hate that
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

What more do yiu need

Posted20 September 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Mooloolaba, QLD
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Double Black is a great whisky and one which continues to provide great satisfaction. Do you need more?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Like licking an ashtray

Posted8 September 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sydney
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I happen to like a scotch, but the very strong smoky flavour of this scotch made this experience most unpleasant for me. I love the smoky flavour of various food groups, but I could not drink this neat. The only way that I could consume this was to add an equal amount of Stone’s Ginger Wine with a moderate amount of ice. Even then, the smoky taste was still too strong for my liking. I think that chewing on a burnt mattress would be more pleasant than trying this scotch neat and it is overpriced. To conclude, in case I have not been clear, I did not like this one little bit. This is most definitely on my never to buy again list.
Pros: nil
Cons: like licking an ashtray, overpriced
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

For a bottle so black....you would expect more char and smoke

Posted17 August 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Gatton, Australia
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I gave it some time before i opened up my first purchase of the double black. I wanted to make sure it was not a limited release or just a gimmick. Seems to be a stayer in the Walker stable so i decided to open it up. Its got some char and some peat that is for sure. If you have tried Talisker or Caolla you surely will pick it up on the nose. On the palate the smoke and char hang around briefly before you get the standard walker black notes of sweet and floral speyside. If your chasing a brief change to your standard blend this is a good idea.
Pros: nice change from the standard black
Cons: 40% abv is a little lacklustre
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

a smokey mess

Posted27 July 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It's smokey. it's like a barbecue, like a cigarette.
I am no scotch snob, but I like my scotch. i really do. This blend is appalling. I have just opened a bottle (thank god it was a gift and i didn't spend actual money) and probably won't finish my glass. I like to drink neat and this is not a neat drinking whisky. With a dash of water, it seems cooler, more open perhaps, more... normal. Without, it's a smokey mess. The glass stinks of the smoke, the mouth burns from it, it's quite overpowering (the smoke).
If you like over the top smokey scotch, this is absolutely perfect. If you like well balanced flavour (or in general better whisky) then stray away. Even as a gift, I am appalled at this bottle. A number of far cheaper whiskies are better than this blend.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

double black

Posted23 July 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Age: 50-59
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good drop but no i wouldnt buy another bottle, unless its on a good mark down sale price, save your money get the black label, more for the trendy bars and clubs .
Pros: nice drop
Cons: a little over priced and not all that its made out
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Excellent flavour for whisky taken straight in small sips - as it should be.

Posted6 June 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Roma QLD.
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Found this whisky while in Scotland and prefer it to single malts. Flavour is excellent with the hint of smoke just right. Price is the limiting factor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Terrible Whisky, I'll stick to normal black label

Posted5 June 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Adelaide SA, Australia
Age: 18-19
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This whisky sounds impressive, buts is really not. It's actually terrible, the smokey and deeper flavour ruins it. Ill stick to black label
Spend your money on something else
Cons: expensive
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
2of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Impressive

Posted3 June 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sydney, Australia
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I consider myself a bit of a single malt snob, usually avoiding blends like the plague. But I head the Double Black was JW's peated expression, what's more ... its mostly sourced from Caol Ila, which is the best distillery from the island of Islay, in my opinion.
So I gave Double Black a go...and... for $50... you can't beat it. An impressive blend, smooth enough and punchy enough. It's not a peat monster, but it's there.
Pros: peaty, smooth, price
Cons: cheap looking bottle design
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Downhill?

Posted3 June 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Wollongong, NSW
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Had not had a Double Black for about three years. Keep a single malt and a blended opened at the same time. Had just finished a Dimple; next standard bottle was the Double Black. I certainly prefer the 12 yr Dimple. Made the following Laphroaig a faster grab.
Either my palate has changed or the Double Black is not as it was.
Cons: priced too high
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Terrific blend

Posted16 May 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sunshine Coast
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For me this is the best Scotch going. Beautifully blended, strong, rich aroma and leaved most of the mid priced others for dead. Don't miss it, you won't be disappointed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

JW kicked a goal with this one

Posted10 April 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Albany Creek, QLD
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is one whisky I keep buying. I like the huge smoke of this whisky. No, it's not perfectly balanced, nor does it have a long finish. But it is fantastic in it's own right and price point. Pick up a bottle when it's under $50 and enjoy with some quality dark chocolate. Yummm!
Pros: smoke smoke smoke, love the dark bottle
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

BBQ anyone...

Posted20 January 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Springwood
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Take off the lid and get taken by the bbq aroma. The old fashion barbeque sauce (smokey & fruity chutney style).
That's how I would describe it to a layman...
Leave it to sit a while & the stronger it gets.
Smooth over the tongue, slight burn on the throat, a long legged after taste, with the aroma staying on the glass long after it's been emptied... when that fades, it's time for a refill.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

great fat juicy & cheap

Posted15 December 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Largs North
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I must say I am not an aficionado of scotch... but I know what I like. I had a miss spent youth on cheap scotch... since I gave up tobacco I can afford something better. I drink malts most of the time now with friends whom love a good malt. So why am I buying a blended scotch? Because this one is exceptional value for enjoyment. I recommend it over the JW gold which I did not enjoy... I tried lord knows I tried to enjoy the gold but no, straight back to the DBL BLK... the flavour is simply fuller & much more than any person might expect for under fifty bux. A great quaffing, shot glass drop... but totally sippable neat or with a little water or ice cube.
Pros: massive value
Cons: i have none except it might be free lol
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>