Dan Murphys Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Johnnie Walker Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Johnnie Walker Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Johnnie Walker Double Black is the exciting and revolutionary new addition to the Johnnie Walker range. Double Black contains everything you already love about Johnnie Walker Black Label, with the intensity and complexity amplified. With the addition of deeper, darker malts from the Scottish west coast and the islands, Double Black delivers a unique smoky finish that sets it apart from the pack. Aromas of fresh citrus and vanilla come to the fore immediately. The best way to release this great nose is to add a small drop of pure water. On the palate, flavours of dark raisins, orange, clove and that unmistakable long, lingering, smoky finish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.118 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
26 out of 3379% ()
of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL
Review 1 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Duty Free is a Con

Posted16 January 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Travelling Wilbury
from Various - Pakistan, Dhaka, Mapito and Oz
Age: 60+
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A great whisky - distinctive to the Balcl Label and a seductive apres main meal indulgence.... but the duty free price is the same as Dan's. So will be looking for a different scotch as I travel
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

A very Nice sipping whisky

Posted8 December 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
JustkeepWalking
from Narara New South Wales' Central Coast
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is truly a revelation in nice understated scotch. Its price point shows very good value for money and a nice switch from regular "Black". With its price so keenly pointed its a very easy jump up from Red and Basic Black and if you have to spoil it Coke can be added to taste but the best way is small sips and lots of them.
Cons: it runs out too soon
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

More smoke than peat.

Posted22 November 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dougal
from Sydney
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
There are two whiskies that I love: Johnnie Walker Black label and Talisker 10 year old single malt - but for different reasons.
Black label is great for an enjoyable pre-dinner drink with a splash of water. Talisker is for a long leisurely after dinner drink, again with a splash of water.
Black label is very very smooth; Talisker grabs you and insists you take your time to sip and enjoy and floods your mouth with peat and liquorice.
Double Black seems to get lost in the middle. It is not as smooth as the 12 year old Black label and does not have the peat or body of the Talisker. More smoke than peat.
For the $50 plus price tag I would either recommend a retreat to the $40 plus for the 12 year old Black label or go the extra for the $60 plus Talisker.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Did someone ash a cigarette in my drink?

Posted17 August 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
whiskey_lover_melbourneSE
from SE Melbourne
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
There is no smokey hints in this blend, its FULL on "rich intense smokey blend". One could be mistaken for trying to locate the cigarette butt in the bottle.
I purchased this bottle by accident, and could only drink one glass down neat.
Maybe you smokers like this blend, but I'm a single malt kinda guy anyway, the only way I can drink this is mixed with a LOT of Kirks lemonade or soda, which is a crime for $50 bottles of whiskey.
I also think the JW brand is way over hyped, and will never buy again. Their marketing department should be commended.
Pros: 40% abv
Cons: smokey smokey smokey
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

A good smokey blend

Posted27 July 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Wee Willie
from Sydney
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very smokey with spiced mixed fruits and a hint of peat. Not quite a smokey Islay peat monster but rather close. One of JW;s best. Do try it.
Pros: smokey
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

nice blend

Posted2 July 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Joe
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smooth, little peaty, spicy , very enjoyable, good price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

A richer verson of JW Black

Posted28 May 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
coslifehurts
from Melbourne
Age: 40-49
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I first tasted this and didn't think much. I had a second taste recently and I noted that it has a thicker slightly richer oilier Islay influenced palate. The raisin fruit character noticeable in the JW Black is also here (Talisker?) but richer! And the finish is definitely smokier but still well balanced having regard to the fruitier components. Now I want a bottle!
Pros: richer than the jw black
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Excellent Product from JW

Posted19 April 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
hemsidd
from sydney
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great taste for JW lovers. Its different then a regular scotch !! Love it !!
Pros: all good !!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

An adventure

Posted1 April 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Josh
from Brisbane
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
On my very first taste of Double Black I thought someone had ashed in my glass! But having a brand new bottle of it and determined not to waste I continued to drink, and I grew quite fond of it. The smokiness tones down over time and I enjoyed it most with a couple of ice cubes. Good for something different.
Pros: something different
Cons: an acquired taste
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Hits the Nail on the head!

Posted24 March 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mr Stu
from Morely WA
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is such a welcome addition to the JW range.
Lovely and smokey with all the JW12yr old goodness.
Worth the extra $10? you decide.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Smoky

Posted14 December 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
scotchwhiskydude
from Sydney
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smoky arrival, but short finish. There is no years displayed like the black label, which indicates young whiskies in the blend. Overall a good blend.
Pros: smoky, balanced
Cons: short finish
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

power plus

Posted8 September 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
larch
from morisset
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovely smokey flavour and firm after taste was a pleasent suprise for the money.
Pros: smokey flavour
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

so smokey its like a liquid ciggarette

Posted23 August 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
BigCat
from Sydney
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
on the nose its a very strong charred oak smell with vanilla present. On the pallet the scotch is over powered with the smokey flavour that it is difficult to pick up too much else although relatively smooth, ive been drinking scotch for a while and this one just misses the mark. If you enjoy your scotch then i recommend trying it for something different but if your in the market for something a little more light hearted then i recommend something like JW Black label as it is far better than this and a very versatile drink. Dare i say that i even added coke to this monster and it didnt taste too good
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Different

Posted11 August 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Doggman007
from Port Macquarie
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Chard smokey,Ashy with a taste of nuts on the nose.
This is kind of like the Guinness of whisky very heavy and first impression is "should I drink it or chew it"
Strange taste on the pallet nothing on the tongue more on the roof of the mouth leaving it numb for some time after.
I guess it is how it says on the bottle but not really my cup of tea.
I could see how some people my like it depending on their taste.
Thinking more every day I might just stick to single malts, haven't really found a good blend yet.
Pros: if you like it its a good price
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

just try it you'll like it

Posted3 May 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
DC_drinker
from DC
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I guess to each his own, some dont seem too impressed but I am. Stumbled on JD dbl black recently, really like it a lot, usually drink reg black as my daily scotch but I'll be buying more of this instead.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Best value of the JW Line

Posted15 April 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Blandido
from Sydney, Australia
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was first attracted to this by the charred casks method appealing to my love of over-powering smokiness and the sensation of being hit in the face by a burning log in a glass of whisky.
I have sampled all the walkers and have gold label centenary edition on my shelf at the moment.
My favorite of all whisky is Lagavulin single malt, again for its peat and smokiness.
I found JW Double black to be far superior to Gold Label for $30 less a bottle and not as good (blended vs single m) but comparable to lagavulin and talisker.
For its price it is amazing value, had depth, integrity and last that one would expect of a single malt or $100+ blend.
A must try for anyone... Go in with an open mind, focus on value expectations and consider the charred casks as the dominant quality.
I would recommend very highly to anyone!
-2points
7of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Double Black is More Kick

Posted11 March 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Addictor
from braybrook
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
JW - Double Black
What's Can I say about this Bottle it 's Stronger & Tastier than the Black Label. I never tasted the Black Label Before , just over long week end (Labor-day), my brother bring over the JW black label & we Finished it . then I told my brother that the taste not that good as the Double Black As I used to drink . We all
agreed.......(Red Label/Black Label) I think is For beginner , Double Black / Green Label is for Occasional & seriously We only drink the Gold / blue Label
For the Price I bought @ DM on Sale for $47.90 JW Double Black compare to Black Label $39.99 , Just a few more bucks it's worth it , I reckon
Pros: stronger
Cons: only buy if the price is right
I would recommend this to a friend!
-14points
1of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Not a scotch snob, but this is amazing.

Posted30 January 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
GeorgeK
from Newcastle, NSW
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okay, I am too inexperienced in the area of scotches to really say this is as good or not as good as the next.
But, in saying that, this is one of the smoothest most well balanced drinks I have had. It's smokey, malty and comes off nice.
Definitely recommend, either neat, on one or two cubes of ice, or preferably using whisky rocks.
Pros: good price, good brand, not abrupt like 'cheaper' jw's.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-10points
7of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

A richer expression than standard Black

Posted15 January 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
axl
from Surf Air
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Johnnie Walker, Double Black (Scotland)
Double Black is a more ‘extreme’ version of Johnnie Walker Black Label, with a powerful wood impact, courtesy of the use of some spirit matured in deeply charred casks, and a greater concentration of smoky Islay-style flavour characteristics.
It carries no age statement since it is a blend of many aged batches, hence it is “an expression”. Global brand director David Gates says that “Interest in the Scotch whisky category continues to be high and we believe consumers want to explore the huge range of flavour experiences that a brand like Johnnie Walker can deliver. We believe that Johnnie Walker Double Black will excite consumers in the blended Scotch whisky category while delivering a fantastic tasting new blend."
Tasting: Smokey and mild iodine on the nose, with barbecue, vanilla and lemon notes. The rich palate offers restrained grain, lots of malt character, a pinch of pepper, peat and liquorice. The finish is lengthy and satisfyingly charred. 40.0% ABV, 700ml
I would recommend this to a friend!
-17points
4of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Johnnie Walker Double Black Scotch Whisky 700mL

Don't believe the hype...!

Posted12 January 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
fastpoose
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I saw all these rave reviews on this site, and silly me thought I'd go get a bottle.
I'm no elitist, but I do usually drink single malts or vatted malts, but some blends are excellent (ballantynes 17 year old for example).
I was extremely disappointed with this dram. The nose is actually pretty good, nice sweet peat, sherry, toffee and some dried fruits. But the nose unfortunately does not mirror the palate, very weak, no real follow through, and extremely short on length.
I won't fall for the reviews on here again, silly me.
If you want nice sweet smoke, sherry, lovely fruits, great mouthfeel and length that lastes go for a lagavulin (and others), or if you're still prone to JW go for the GREEN LABEL, the green label is on another level compared to this, mainly in my opinion due to the fact the green label is made up of only single malt whiskys.
My foray back to blends will have to wait another few years (except for the 17 yr Ballantynes of course!)
Pros: nose
Cons: extremely short length, poor mouthfeel, expensive for poor quality, far better blends, spend a tiny bit more for far better single malts
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
11of 30voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>