Dan Murphys Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Dan Murphys
Shop Shiraz or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Wine Men Of Gotham Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Wine Men Of Gotham Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

The Wine Men of Gotham Shiraz will deliver you a wine overflowing with explosive Shiraz flavours, crammed with blackberries and red fruit flavours. The Wine Men's Shiraz is the wine that keep the full-bodied red lover coming back again and again, and it's not hard to see why at this ridiculous price! Big South Australian red done really well still seduces every time, though rarely can you see it for close to this price.
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
2
15 out of 2075% ()
of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz
Review 1 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Excellent value Shiraz

Posted1 March 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
SydneyKev
from Sydney, Australia
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is probably the best full body shiraz I have seen in a very long time. Buy this one by the truckload - you won't be disappointed!
Pros: value, flavour
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Here's a quick tip for all you wine know-it-alls

Posted6 July 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
vino_boss
Vintage: 2011
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wine is a product who's quality is determined by the growing season it is made in. For those of you who have complained about a much loved wine all of a sudden (probably more recently ie 2011 vintage) becoming 'thin' or 'watery' and 'low alcohol' then chances are you've purchased a wine from the dreaded 2011 vintage around nearly all of south Australia and Victoria.
The reason your wine has dropped in quality is not because of 'corporations' taking over the wine industry. It's because a particular year was cold and wet throughout the ripening and harvesting period thus providing fruit that was low in fermentable sugar and therefore made into lower alcohol wine.
The flip side is I've seen some amazing wines from 2011 who have had a quality vineyard manager and winemaker at the helm. The reality in the wine industry is this; a good winemaker will make good wines despite any vintage difficulties. The bad news at the lower end of the price scale is all the grapes unsuitable for premium labels get dumped into sub $10 quaffers
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Furphy

Posted25 June 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
winefinder
from Northern NSW, Australia
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Vintage: Unknown
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I find it strange that no one has really nailed this yet, but I believe the wine-loving public has been 'had'. The silver labelled Gotham Estate wines I tasted from around 3 or 4 years ago were sensational value. Langhorne Creek and Maclaren Vale shirazes come to mind. Then, I tasted the cheaper Wine Men of Gotham Grenache Shiraz while in Sydney in 2011 and was amazed at the richness and flavour delivered for $7 a bottle. Sadly, something happened between 2011 and 2012: after raving to a friend about the sumptuousness of the WMoG wines, I bought one at a Dan Murphy's and was bitterly disappointed: it was light bodied, characterless and low in alcohol (around the 13% mark, compared to the earlier wines' 15%). I checked the other day at Dan's and it looked like the same deal. Was this a cynical marketing ploy: by some fortuitous means find a heap of cheap to buy grapes of high quality (vineyard going bankrupt perhaps) and sell great value wine for two years to create a brand much loved by wine enthusiasts who can't afford expensive wines, then keep the same branding but apply it to inferior, watery, cheap tasting wines (a la the WMoG wines from the past two years)?
Not sure, but it's a shame that corporations have infiltrated wine making and marketing.
Pros: vintage is everything - was once a truly great buy
Cons: vintage is everything - now tastes cheap., we've been 'had'.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Great value for money

Posted25 February 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mungo
from Canberra
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Has most of what is needed for an easy drinking wine, flavour, tannins and a good competitive price.
If you are expecting a $30 wine for $6, don't bother, but cost to value ratio is right up there.
I also agree with previous comment, the label is a good talking point. LOL
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

not up to standard

Posted20 October 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
km
from sydney
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not in the same class as 2008 vintage. Disliked by 4 friends I shared it with.
Cons: very tart taste.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Wow !

Posted30 August 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Carls
from Sydney
Age: 20-29
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wow had this wine last weekend and it is a fantastic value for Money, really smooth and a nice finish, Great fathers Day Gift.
The Label is a realy talking point around the dinner table!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Wine Men 2011's more my style

Posted27 August 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
red4me
from Sydney
Age: 40-49
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I must say I found the 2008 Wine Men a little overblown and heavy. The 2011 is much more my style. Balanced and great flavour. Definitely more than a quaffer at quaffer prices. Love the Sauvignon Blanc as well.
Pros: excellent value, great flavour and balance
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Gone off in a big way

Posted2 August 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
mion
from Albany Wa
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Having really enjoyed at a dozen cases of Wise men of Gotham from online as not available locally got a dozen from local store and it is a big dissapointment and only suitable to make mulled wine from.
Cons: will try the next vintage
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Dreadful

Posted4 July 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Spottedpig
from Wollongong
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I happily drank 2 cases of the 2008 Shiraz. It was fantastic value for money. The 2011 was so poor I didn't finish the glass.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Great value, easy-going red

Posted3 July 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Some random muppet
from Sydney
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is medium-bodied, a medium colour and only medium alcohol, which all help to make it easy-going. It's got plenty of black and red berries and not much wood to get in the way. Not overly complex or much length, which is perfect for a mid-week splash.
Very easy-going and drinkable red. And no leftovers to worry about.
Pros: bang for buck, crowd pleaser, low tannins, lots of fruit
Cons: not much length
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

A great bargain (2008 vintage)

Posted16 April 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Notrobertparker
from Melbourne
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Immensely quaffable. For sheer quality, I've never tasted a wine of any description that comes within a hundred miles of this one at the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Inconsistent

Posted3 April 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
A Nickname
from Sydney
Age: 20-29
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The first bottle I drank was enjoyable but one dimensional, very fruity but not very sophisticated, a bit Jacob's Creeky.
The 2nd bottle was utterly terrible, no better than cheap goon, so either the wines come from more than one source or they have quality control problems.
I give the first bottle three stars and the second bottle one star, averaging out to two.
Pros: first bottle was okay
Cons: second bottle was terrible
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

The only thing mad about this wine is the price.

Posted2 April 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Wine Dum Dum
from Melbourne
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The "Wise Men of Gotham" were quite the tricksters. I can safely say there is nothing tricky about the "Wine Men of Gotham's" 2008 Shiraz. What a ripping drinker for the price. Terrific balance, flavour and drinking appeal. This is perhaps the best value, best drinking Shiraz from South Australia maybe even the best in OZ.
Pros: value, drinking now, balanced flavour
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Need patience to explore

Posted31 March 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Noob
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's dark, red and a bit organ at the rim.
Really takes a while and maybe some temperature to show something on the nose; even the leathery oak hides itself. The exciting discovery is something like the sweetness of strawberry and raisin. If sniff too much, the alcohol blocks everything.
Not as acidic as would expected for a full bodied shiraz. There isn't much tannin. So the backbone is not that strong. Bitterness stands out and of course is not very balanced.
Can find some plum, dried apricot on the palate. There is interesting mushroom which also contribute to the finish, even though quite short.
Overall, this is a wine that needs patience to explore its profile. Otherwise, it may seem tedious.
Pros: mushroom
Cons: bitterness unbalanced, weak flavor profile
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Very good value, but....

Posted21 March 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Bruce the Goose
from Adelaide, Australia
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Like all inexpensive "drink now" wines, there is always a catch - you have to drink it all now i.e. once opened the wine needs to be drank immedietely. If you choose to have a couple of glasses and save the rest for tomorrow night - foget it, this wine, like all low cost wines loses its mojo if consummed (say) twenty four hours later. Having said that, it is a great value drop that will readily get consumed at social gatherings.
Pros: good value
Cons: short life
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Excellent Shiraz at an even better price.

Posted7 March 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Damo
from Newcastle, Australia
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'll keep this short. It is a great, full body wine at a price that cannot be beaten. Easily the best in it's price range and puts most bottles more than double the price to shame. In the under $10 range, this is a wine definitely worth stocking up on.
Pros: excellent value for money
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz 2008 (South Australia)

Posted5 March 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Inkwell
from East Maitland NSW
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredibly eye catching label on this "Wine Men of Gotham" starring the 'Wise Men' of Gotham England who were perhaps acting the fool in the 'Old Dart Tales of Old' but certainly giving us Red Wine Loving Folks more than that 'wink and a nudge' and certainly 'more bang for our buck' and wanting more at this foolish price we pay at Dan Murphy's.
My wine 'buff' neighbour had these "The Wine Men of Gotham" Shiraz and Cabernet Sauvignon wines recommended to him by his NZ brother who was in town visiting family for a few days. He reckons this wine is an ideal everyday drinking wine for Aussie 'Blokes & Shelias' who love to get their taste buds into a red wine over a BBQ and that there be no fooling around for taste or quality at this very wise price.
Pros: export quality at bargain prices, wine from south australia, winemaker - bruce clugston, 13.9% alc
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Amazing wine for this price

Posted6 November 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Gregs8597
from Brisbane
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I don't think I've tasted a better Shiraz at this price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Different Opinion

Posted4 November 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Batman
from Victoria
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'd just like to disagree with the review that states that this wine is inoffensive. It is, IMHO quite the opposite. It is a bold and in-your-face wine. It has characteristics of a much more expensive wines, albeit in a rough and ready form. If you've tried 2009 Ingoldby McLaren Vale shiraz (94 point rated by Halliday), you'll have an idea.
In fact, it does actually come from McLaren Vale plus surrounding regions, hardly normal for wines of this price. I'd say it's easily the best shiraz of this price range.
BTW It costs more than the $6 it says in the DM review.
Pros: a serious shiraz for the price
Cons: not as refined as a more expensive shiraz
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wine Men Of Gotham Shiraz

Excellent value for money

Posted27 October 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Big Red
from Melbourne, Australia
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dark, brooding and full bodied, this wine is a bottler for the price. A great back up or quafer wine and will cellar medium term. Winemaker covers many labels including this one. Have never been disappointed.
Pros: excellent value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>