Dan Murphys Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Dan Murphys
Shop Rum or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Pusser's Pusser's British Navy Rum 700mL

Pusser's Pusser's British Navy Rum 700mL

Modelled on the Old British Navy 'Pusser's Rums'. A big, strong Rum with oaky aromas leading to smokiness and subtle sweetness. Rum rations were given to sailors in the British Navy for over 300 years until 1970. Rum was watered down to make the drink known as "grog". Pusser's is perfect as a mixer or to serve simply on the rocks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100% ()
of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pusser's British Navy Rum 700mL
Review 1 for Pusser's British Navy Rum 700mL

Excellent Lower Priced Rum

Posted29 June 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Darn
Age: 30-39
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A great Rum to drink Neat (no ice) or in a Dark'n'Stormy.
This is a great Rum to start on if you've never tried Rum before, it's cheaper and great value for money.
Pros: price, value for money, taste, good in cocktails
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pusser's British Navy Rum 700mL

The Best rum I Have Ever Tasted

Posted9 June 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Muddy
from Brisbane
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As someone who was weaned on Beenleigh Rum and brought up on Bundy, I would never have considered that a better rum was available anywhere in the world.
I was wrong.
Pussers is without doubt the smoothest, tastiest rum available to mankind.My palate isn't so discerning that I can taste cinnamon or smell anything other than rum but if you are a real rum drinker and not someone pretending to be, do yourself a favour and drink it.Don't smell it, try to imagine hat the maker was thinking on the night he put down this particular batch or do anything other than drink it.It's not science or any f orm of art.It's rum, made in the Virgin Islands incidently, not England & probably made gathering the yeast from the toe jam of someone who walked through some molasses but don't think about that either.Just drink it and be grateful
Pros: delicious
Cons: not enough of it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pusser's British Navy Rum 700mL

My Favourite Grog

Posted21 November 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sheppo
from Rockhampton
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow at last av in Aus For th past 10 years my son has supplied me on his annual visit from UK, I served in the Royal Navy 1949 to 1972 and enjoyed Pussers for most of this time. Its much the same taste and wow its great it is well worth the cost seeing as its imported .a very nice smooth taste that lingers on and on
Clear the palate with cheese drink neat the only way to drink DO NOT DILUTE WITH COLA!s ECT
Sheppo
Pros: worth everuy cent
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pusser's British Navy Rum 700mL

very nice indeed

Posted12 April 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jeremy
from Boronia Heights Brisbane
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Im not a fan of rum myself but this version has an amazing character.
It has aged single malt whisky qualities to the nose and palate that I usually only get from 18yr and older whiskies.
Even my wife who hates rum really enjoys Pussers rum and she also said it reminded her of smooth whisky neat.
A nose of strong spices with light sweetness of cinnamon coming through, on the palate the spice comes alive with subtle hints of smokyness and honey.
I really enjoy this rum and highly recommend it for more mature tastes who enjoy aged spirits neat, probably not for the sweet rum drinkers or Bundy lovers.
Pros: spicy and very aromatic, not sweet, good cork top for a quick nip on weekend mornings
Cons: tastes too good
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pusser's British Navy Rum 700mL

The Real Deal

Posted7 April 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dave
from Sydney
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The original Admiralty recipe which was bought from the Royal Navy nine years after "The Black Day", the end of the rum ration in the Royal Navy in 1970.
A blend of five West Indian pot still rums.
Royalties from sales are the chief source of income for The Royal Navy Sailor's Fund.
Pros: truely naval rum, the single malt of rums
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pusser's British Navy Rum 700mL

i remember this rum from 50 years ago

Posted25 January 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
bill
from kenmore
Age: 60+
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the taste has not changed--the quality is as i remember--the best rum ever made.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pusser's British Navy Rum 700mL

Real Navy Rum

Posted10 August 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Rumbo
from Heathridge Australia
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having served in the Royal Navy the smell and taste of this rum takes me back to "Tot time".
An excellent tasting rum whether you drink it neat, with ice or with water. Please do not add Coke or Lemonade!!
For those of you who like a really smooth rum try the 15 year old Pussers which is available at some places.
Pros: great tasting rum
Cons: the bottle seems to empty really fast!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pusser's British Navy Rum 700mL

Definitely one to try if you are a rum fan

Posted17 July 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
mao
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A sweet/off-dry, quite beefy rum which actually smells a little like the hold of an old wooden ship and thus earns its namesake. A reasonable choice of rum to keep on hand as it is a good sipper, but not wasted in cocktails - rather similar to the Barcadi 8 year old. The price is about right considering the producer is relatively small. The bottle has a lot of old world character. The rum has a syrupy, viscous mouth feel to it as you'd expect from one with such a history to it. I taste tested Pussers against the comparably priced Havana Club 7 Anos and, for my pallate, the Pussers won hands down. As it is strongly flavoured I wouldn't recommend it to everyone, but I think most rum people will like it as much as I do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.