Dan Murphys Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Monkey Shoulder Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Monkey Shoulder Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Monkey Shoulder is a premium Scotch Whisky that is steeped in history and culture and to this day is still tended by hand by the experienced Malt Men of Speyside. A smooth and rich 'triple' malt Scotch (a world first!) that has been blended from three of Speyside's finest single malts and using batches from only 27 casks to produce this fine malt whisky. A delightful nose of sherry, cinnamon baked pear, butterscotch, barley, strawberry and Bourbon vanilla which are all complemented by tangy, sweet nut, citrus, mint, oak and orange peel flavours.
Average Customer Rating:
4.237 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
28 out of 3385% ()
of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL
Review 1 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

The Scotch for Bourbon drinkers!

Posted28 January 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Brendan
from Brisbane
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decided to give this a go. I did like it but, I had to except that it was more bourbon in character and after taste than I would of liked. Smooth drink when mixed with coke, on the rocks was not my cup of tea. Again I think the bourbon barrel ageing just pushed it more towards a bourbon than a triple malt Scotch. Was somewhat disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

very good

Posted21 January 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Scotchpro
from Sydney
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic, easy to drink, the cork is class, can taste vanilla. sweeter than chivas not as hot as dymple
Pros: value, taste
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Start of my scotch whisky travels...

Posted8 January 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
imsharp
from Brisbane, Australia
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tongue tingling, throat warming & easy to swallow as a caramel malt milkshake...
Left a dry, oily (but not unpleasant) feeling in the mouth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Monkey madness

Posted27 December 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mr stu
from Perth
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Monkey shoulder is one of those rare whiskeys which manages to fool you that it should
Have cost twice what it did.
A wonderfully blended dram and an
Exceptional bargain
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

What a surprise

Posted21 December 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
DanielS
from Albury
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was given this as a birthday present, and honestly was not expecting much - however it is a pleasant and very enjoyable cheapie if you wait till it goes under $40. I drink my scotch neat, and this one has nice Speyside honey, coconut, apple and nutty flavours. Very easy to drink, and as a blended whisky I find it way better than the Chivas 12yr old.
Pros: easy to drink
Cons: too easy to drink
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Disappointed

Posted27 November 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Virorse
from Perth, WA
Age: 30-39
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
With all the hype and seeing the 'Award Winner' label for the product online, we went to a local store and bought it.
One word......disappointed. Taste nothing like what was described online. Not even smooth....taste like cheap whisky.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Not all that its cracked up to be.

Posted30 October 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jimmy17
from Melbourne
Age: 18-19
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
With the hype that surrounds this blend; I decided to buy myself a bottle.
What I found was a dull whiskey. It was overly hot in the mouth and stomach, and lacked any deep flavour.
It didn't really mix that well either.
Pros: attractive bottle
Cons: too hot and lacking flavour
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Amazing!

Posted24 June 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
BP
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great straight of mixed, very smooth! Really enjoyed neat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

reasonable

Posted11 June 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Trich
from 58b Camoo Caves Road
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pretty good for a blend ! Not much of a finish and not a lot to experience. Empty makes a good water bottle for the fridge , so that's a plus I suppose .
Pros: good bottle
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Up there!

Posted5 June 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dinesh
from Sydney
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This one is up there with the best I have tasted. I would rank it as one of the best malt blends equal to if not better than Talisker 26.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

More fun than a barrel of monkeys !!

Posted1 December 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TasteeYatesee88
from Bargara
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This whisky sure is a standout. With so many different blends out there, what makes this unique is what makes it such an great purchase. Unlike other blends which are a little to rounded, sharp and a little hit and miss on the palate, the monkey offers a those floral, citrus, vanilla and caramel notes that a speyside malt drinker loves.
With a price that doesn't break the bank it sure would be a beverage you could share with good friends or even as your sneak daily tipple. A great addition to the home bar that will leave your mates talking and your mouth watering...
Enjoy It !!
Pros: affordable, full of great flavour
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Bad Experience

Posted29 August 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Hopeful
from Illawong
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After all the rap about this whisky I decided to try it myself. never again. dry and leaves you with dry throat in the morning like the cheap whisky does.
it is only as good as the cheaper brands and should be priced the same
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Marketing triumph - nothing really wrong with it, but better can be found cheaper

Posted29 August 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Plushly
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this scotch to try on the fact it was a full malt blend and the strength of reviews found on sites like this.
Packaging is great - a great gift on the strength of looks alone.
The nose promised decent complexity. However, this did not follow through on the palate. Above all, I was totally disappointed with the shortness of the finish. From the reviews, I also imagined it would be a lot smoother.
Compared to my regular tipple, Bailie Nicol Jarvie, the BNJ is the winner on complexity, malt quality, smoothness, balance and price. This is despite the BNJ label claiming to be high malt, but not full malt like Monkey Shoulder. Monkey Shoulder is only ahead with a slightly richer body.
I appreciate that everyone's taste is different, but for my money at this price point, BNJ is still king.
Pros: great packaging, decent body, ok mass appeal
Cons: very short finish for a full malt blend, hint of quality but better value found elsewhere, could be smoother
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Great taste great price

Posted30 July 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Wee Willie
from Sydney
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great mix of malts. It has a fruity character, not unlike Glenfiddich with vanilla fudge and raisins then apples and pears (more so with a little water) leading to a nice spicy finish. A must at the price. The bottle good as well.
Pros: taste and price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Great Value Blended Whiskey

Posted28 June 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Targaryen
from Perth, Australia
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply amazing for a blended whisky in its price range. A blended whisky that's good enough to drink neat is rare find, to have one at this price is great. Makes for a really good gift as the bottle itself is impressive, the metal monkeys on the bottle as well as the vintage style label give it a good look. Definitely something I would recommend regardless of if you're having it neat or mixing it. Get it on sale for even better value for money.
Pros: great value
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Best blended malt(vatted malt)

Posted12 June 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tezz
from Adelaide, SA
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This here has to be one of the best blends out there. However, this is a vatted malt which consists of only malt whisky, whereas other blends such as the JW, Chivas, they contain grain whisky. Anyway, this excellent blend has a fruity, pleasant nose with hints of banana, honey, toffee and caramel. It has a good taste on the palate, smooth yet complex enough for more serious whisky drinkers. The aftertaste is of a nice speyside with a long and pleasant finish. This blend is not meant to be mixed with coke or soda, it is good enough to drink neat. If you can get it under $40, this is really a bang for your buck. Highly highly recommended.
Pros: value, smooth, easy on the palate, fragrant nose, pretty packaging
Cons: might be over $40 at times get it during sales.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Smooth, nothing special, good value though

Posted30 May 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
James
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've never been a drinker of blends straight, but out of curiosity I asked the nearby assistant for recommendations for good blended whiskies and she recommended Monkey Shoulder. At $40 I figured it was worth a go, and worth a go it was. It's pleasant enough to drink straight; it doesn't offer the full-frontal aromatic and flavour assault of my preferred single malts, but at roughly half the price, that's fair enough.
If you like smooth whisky, give this a go. If you want a decent whisky at a good price to drink regularly rather than going to the top shelf constantly, give this a go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

MY FAVORITE SCOTCH

Posted12 May 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
ANTA
from BLACKTOWN
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I TRIED IT OUT OF CURRIOSITY AND AFTER THE FIRST BOTTLE I WAS HOOKED, IT IS SO SMOOTH AND GENTLE ON THE PALATETHAT WILL KEEP YOU WANTING MORE, FULL FLAVOUR AND AROMA, IT IS CHRISTMAS IN THE MOUTH, DEFENITELY IT IS MY BEST SCOTCH.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

By far the best scotch!

Posted10 May 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Swarfy
from Melbourne, Australia
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I stumbled across this one afternoon when wanting to change up what I was currently drinking (scotch), and thought I'd give a different scotch a try. Although some of the much more well known brands have more display space in stores, there was something about the actual bottle that caught my eye so I ended up taking home a bottle of Monkey Shoulder for the first time. Let's just say, the first glass had won me over straight away and I haven't bought another brand since. This is truly the best scotch available for the price and I would strongly recommend it to people looking at trying something new or people who just want a glass of the nicest smooth scotch. You will be very surprised!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

pure enjoyment

Posted15 April 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
merniac
from ballarat
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
im not sure what else to say besides there will always be a bottle in my collection. i cannot look back on another scotch when the price is fair for something that tastes and feels upper class. you will not regret this drink for any occasion and now know what to buy as gifts
Pros: im speechless
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>