Dan Murphys Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Monkey Shoulder Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Monkey Shoulder Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Monkey Shoulder is a premium Scotch Whisky that is steeped in history and culture and to this day is still tended by hand by the experienced Malt Men of Speyside. A smooth and rich 'triple' malt Scotch (a world first!) that has been blended from three of Speyside's finest single malts and using batches from only 27 casks to produce this fine malt whisky. A delightful nose of sherry, cinnamon baked pear, butterscotch, barley, strawberry and Bourbon vanilla which are all complemented by tangy, sweet nut, citrus, mint, oak and orange peel flavours.
Average Customer Rating:
4.448 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
23 out of 2688% ()
of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL
Review 1 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

More fun than a barrel of monkeys !!

Posted1 December 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
TasteeYatesee88
from Bargara
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This whisky sure is a standout. With so many different blends out there, what makes this unique is what makes it such an great purchase. Unlike other blends which are a little to rounded, sharp and a little hit and miss on the palate, the monkey offers a those floral, citrus, vanilla and caramel notes that a speyside malt drinker loves.
With a price that doesn't break the bank it sure would be a beverage you could share with good friends or even as your sneak daily tipple. A great addition to the home bar that will leave your mates talking and your mouth watering...
Enjoy It !!
Pros: affordable, full of great flavour
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Bad Experience

Posted29 August 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
Hopeful
from Illawong
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After all the rap about this whisky I decided to try it myself. never again. dry and leaves you with dry throat in the morning like the cheap whisky does.
it is only as good as the cheaper brands and should be priced the same
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Marketing triumph - nothing really wrong with it, but better can be found cheaper

Posted29 August 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Plushly
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this scotch to try on the fact it was a full malt blend and the strength of reviews found on sites like this.
Packaging is great - a great gift on the strength of looks alone.
The nose promised decent complexity. However, this did not follow through on the palate. Above all, I was totally disappointed with the shortness of the finish. From the reviews, I also imagined it would be a lot smoother.
Compared to my regular tipple, Bailie Nicol Jarvie, the BNJ is the winner on complexity, malt quality, smoothness, balance and price. This is despite the BNJ label claiming to be high malt, but not full malt like Monkey Shoulder. Monkey Shoulder is only ahead with a slightly richer body.
I appreciate that everyone's taste is different, but for my money at this price point, BNJ is still king.
Pros: great packaging, decent body, ok mass appeal
Cons: very short finish for a full malt blend, hint of quality but better value found elsewhere, could be smoother
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Great taste great price

Posted30 July 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Wee Willie
from Sydney
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great mix of malts. It has a fruity character, not unlike Glenfiddich with vanilla fudge and raisins then apples and pears (more so with a little water) leading to a nice spicy finish. A must at the price. The bottle good as well.
Pros: taste and price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Great Value Blended Whiskey

Posted28 June 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Targaryen
from Perth, Australia
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply amazing for a blended whisky in its price range. A blended whisky that's good enough to drink neat is rare find, to have one at this price is great. Makes for a really good gift as the bottle itself is impressive, the metal monkeys on the bottle as well as the vintage style label give it a good look. Definitely something I would recommend regardless of if you're having it neat or mixing it. Get it on sale for even better value for money.
Pros: great value
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Best blended malt(vatted malt)

Posted12 June 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Tezz
from Adelaide, SA
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This here has to be one of the best blends out there. However, this is a vatted malt which consists of only malt whisky, whereas other blends such as the JW, Chivas, they contain grain whisky. Anyway, this excellent blend has a fruity, pleasant nose with hints of banana, honey, toffee and caramel. It has a good taste on the palate, smooth yet complex enough for more serious whisky drinkers. The aftertaste is of a nice speyside with a long and pleasant finish. This blend is not meant to be mixed with coke or soda, it is good enough to drink neat. If you can get it under $40, this is really a bang for your buck. Highly highly recommended.
Pros: value, smooth, easy on the palate, fragrant nose, pretty packaging
Cons: might be over $40 at times get it during sales.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Smooth, nothing special, good value though

Posted30 May 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
James
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've never been a drinker of blends straight, but out of curiosity I asked the nearby assistant for recommendations for good blended whiskies and she recommended Monkey Shoulder. At $40 I figured it was worth a go, and worth a go it was. It's pleasant enough to drink straight; it doesn't offer the full-frontal aromatic and flavour assault of my preferred single malts, but at roughly half the price, that's fair enough.
If you like smooth whisky, give this a go. If you want a decent whisky at a good price to drink regularly rather than going to the top shelf constantly, give this a go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Are you kidding?

Posted16 May 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
west77th
from Melbourne
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hands down the best value Scotch Whisky at Dan's. The perfect mix of flavour, length and aromatic density to stack up against malts that are far more expensive. Equally at home being mixed as it is neat or with a dash of water. Exemplary single malt for a sub-premium price. Outstanding.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

MY FAVORITE SCOTCH

Posted12 May 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
ANTA
from BLACKTOWN
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I TRIED IT OUT OF CURRIOSITY AND AFTER THE FIRST BOTTLE I WAS HOOKED, IT IS SO SMOOTH AND GENTLE ON THE PALATETHAT WILL KEEP YOU WANTING MORE, FULL FLAVOUR AND AROMA, IT IS CHRISTMAS IN THE MOUTH, DEFENITELY IT IS MY BEST SCOTCH.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

By far the best scotch!

Posted10 May 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Swarfy
from Melbourne, Australia
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I stumbled across this one afternoon when wanting to change up what I was currently drinking (scotch), and thought I'd give a different scotch a try. Although some of the much more well known brands have more display space in stores, there was something about the actual bottle that caught my eye so I ended up taking home a bottle of Monkey Shoulder for the first time. Let's just say, the first glass had won me over straight away and I haven't bought another brand since. This is truly the best scotch available for the price and I would strongly recommend it to people looking at trying something new or people who just want a glass of the nicest smooth scotch. You will be very surprised!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

pure enjoyment

Posted15 April 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
merniac
from ballarat
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
im not sure what else to say besides there will always be a bottle in my collection. i cannot look back on another scotch when the price is fair for something that tastes and feels upper class. you will not regret this drink for any occasion and now know what to buy as gifts
Pros: im speechless
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Just try it

Posted8 March 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Nick
from Brisbane
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very good drop for the money. Satisfies the palate of those who yearn for a single malt without the high price. Smooth and not too peaty, which is my preference. Can happily reccomend. Just perfect, but enjoy while it lasts.
Pros: value for money
Cons: for me none really.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

A really nice, smooth whiskey

Posted28 February 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
rl2305
from Sunshine Coast
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My son gave me for Christmas, and I have just finished it. I will be off to buy another. This is a really nice whiskey, and very reasonable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Best buy when sub $40

Posted12 February 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
30 years Experience
from Sydney
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I saw this on the shelf early last year. Love my single Malts but Triple Malt and some 39 bucks???. Anyway picked 3. Cant say it has an identity but for the price it is definitely a good drop. Now always stock up.
Pros: decent taste, very affordable, love the monkeys
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Best valu blend on the market

Posted19 December 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Robert84
from Brisbane
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For a blend it is quite nice, particularly considering it is cheaper than $50 a bottle. Nice smooth whiskey, with gentle pear and cinnamon notes. No long finish, but doesn't have that sugary after taste that some cheaper blends give you. Probably my favourite sub $50 blend.
Pros: value
Cons: lacks complexity
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Great blend

Posted9 December 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Chunkasaurus
from Adelaide, Australia
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has to be one of the most valued blends of all Scotch Whiskey. It contains no grain whiskey at all. These are are malts, blended in to make something perfect. It's smooth, sweet and has a touch of vanilla.
Perfect for people getting into Scotch and believe that JW is anything above 'passable'
Pros: great step away from jw, value for money
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Smooth and gentle; great in coffee.

Posted5 October 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MoreCoffee
from Perth, Australia
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a gentle whisky made from blended malts. It tastes good straight and it excellent in a good quality coffee. It is a little lacking on complexity.
Pros: smooth, geltle, good value, pleasant nose
Cons: not very complex
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Great value regular drinker or gift.

Posted24 June 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
MaltyMalteser
from Sydney
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am halfway through my first bottle now and can give this a fair review. The bottle comes unboxed however it is well presented and looks like a upper market scotch which makes a very nice addition to the shelf.
One thing to note is that this is not a pure single malt but a blend of single malts. It's also 40% strength in alcohol so just be sure not to add too much ice or water as you will weaken the flavours.
The first thing I remember when I first took a smell was WHHOOAA! It certainly is strong on the nose and tastes better than what it smells like. The flavour is quite good with some sweetness however it does have a strong bite as some of the other reviews have mentioned. There is not a huge amount of smoke or peat here either. What this scotch really benefits from is a fair bit of water to open up the flavours and reduce the harshness. A full teaspoon is all you really need but I suggest that you experiment to get the this scotch balanced.
Overall a great value single malt blend scotch that can be enjoyed on a regular basis. I think it also makes for an impressive gift due to the nice bottle and quirky name.
Pros: good value, quite tasty
Cons: strong on the nose, can be a tad harsh
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Excellent malt

Posted10 June 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jedi
from Sydney
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am not a huge fan of malt whiskey but find this one not only my current favourite malt but my favourite whiskey to enjoy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

The only good thing is the bottle

Posted6 March 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Dave
from Sydney
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
One of the poorer whiskeys I've had the opportunity to sample. Hard and unsophisticated nose, average and unremarkable palette, rough finish.
Lacks any real depth of flavour or distinctive character. Could easily be Johnny Red in a fancy bottle. The only thing this whiskey really has going for it (aside from the bottle) is the price. For $45 you can't ask too much, but you can do better than this.
Not an *awful* whiskey, just not a very good one.
Pros: well presented, cheap
Cons: thin palette, harsh finish, no real character
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-20points
3of 26voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>