Dan Murphys Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Monkey Shoulder Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Monkey Shoulder Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Monkey Shoulder is a premium Scotch Whisky that is steeped in history and culture and to this day is still tended by hand by the experienced Malt Men of Speyside. A smooth and rich 'triple' malt Scotch (a world first!) that has been blended from three of Speyside's finest single malts and using batches from only 27 casks to produce this fine malt whisky. A delightful nose of sherry, cinnamon baked pear, butterscotch, barley, strawberry and Bourbon vanilla which are all complemented by tangy, sweet nut, citrus, mint, oak and orange peel flavours.
Average Customer Rating:
4.161 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
3
43 out of 5184% ()
of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL
Review 1 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

The ONLY blend I will drink

Posted21 May 2016
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Bayswater
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This bottle is severely underrated. It is a blend of three single malts and the result is excellent. For under $50 none of the other blends even come close, not even the overpriced ones in the locked cabinets. An ideal weekday whiskey, when you aren't celebrating but feel like a Whiskey Wednesday. Fun tip> Use a butter knife and chip off the metal monkeys from the side of the bottle. I have quite the collection of these. Also>> At X-mas time these bottles usually come in a metal collectors cage which makes an ideal gift, even if it just for yourself.
Pros: so cheap, so good
Cons: too easy to finish
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Excellent nose, poor palate.

Posted6 May 2016
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pouring this whisky is a delight, the aromas are fantastic and complex, and you become really excited for the taste. Unfortunately, both straight from the bottle as well as having aerated this blend the flavour never gets as good as the smell. Excellent value and excellent for a beginner, though not as great thereafter.
Pros: nose
Cons: lack of depth in flavour
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Great taste for value

Posted19 April 2016
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Brisbane
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have tried many a whiskey and I always come back to this whisky for its taste for value... I don't think you will find better taste for value. I drink it on ice and it is smooth and clean with a bold flavour that lets you know its a single malt whisky.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Pleasant

Posted30 March 2016
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sydney
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After reading good reviews including Award Winner, I was disappointed in tasting this product after all the hype and expectations. Pleasant enough but unremarkable all the same. Reasonable value for money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Very good

Posted24 March 2016
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Jimboomba
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I tried this on reading reviews from here and other sites.
I have JW XR21 and tried a side by side and there are both so close is scary.
For a whiskey blend 70 bucks cheaper than the XR it goes to show there are bargins out there and your paying for a name.
Don't get me wrong I love the Jw xr but Monkey shoulder is really close to the same experience but for 70 bucks less.
Superb value will be my new stable.
Pros: good price, good taste, not to far in taste from top shelf jw whiskys
Cons: burst my preconceptions on jw
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

unfortunately disappointing

Posted14 March 2016
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Brisbane
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
i bought this for a house warming at a mates, i generally drink whisky with dry as i haven't grown the taste for straight or watered whisky. i chose this whisky because i want to explore different whiskies other then the usual that i prefer to drink.
The phrase you can not judge a book by its cover could not ring more true, the bottle, label and cork were appealing but the content was very disappointing.
at first i tried to drink it with dry as i normally would but it was so harsh that every sip was met with a grimace. I then mixed it with coke and it was much easier and even enjoyable to drink.
while i did eventually enjoy the drink, the fact that it needed coke to drown out its harshness to enjoy the flavour makes me unable to recommend this whisky as if it needs coke it really isn't worth it.
Pros: nice looking bottle
Cons: unpleasant taste, needs a strong flavoured mixer like coke to enjoy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Just about the best for the money

Posted12 March 2016
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Canberra
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At only $45 Monkey Shoulder is hard to beat, its smooth and slightly sweet character is much more enjoyable than you would expect at this price range.
With subtle caramel and butterscotch flavours it leaves a very pleasant lingering aftertaste, its also versatile enough to mix into cocktails as well (if that's your thing) without over powering the other flavours.
My "go-to Scotch" I always keep one in the cabinet.
Pros: inexpensive, smooth, full flavoured
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

An excellent drop

Posted21 February 2016
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Mandurah WA
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whiskey. An unusual name but a great drop of Scotch, good flavours and smooth
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Good entry level Scotch

Posted28 December 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne VIC, Australia
Age: 30-39
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you like Glenfiddich than Monkey Shoulder may be a good value for money alternative. Light with some fruit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

bushmills is one of our favourite

Posted20 December 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Maroubra
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
we have been shopping at your store for few years and enjoy it a lot. Lovely selections of wine, whiskey and european goodies. Have a Merry Christmas ! and Happy New Year 2016 best wishes to all the nice people working there and we will see you for sure soon Cheers
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Light and smooth

Posted15 December 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Canberra
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No idea what upset the guy below, but this is a very nice whisky. Smooth, very little burn and some nice honey to it. A good staple in my cabinet, and a regular purchase.
Pros: simple
Cons: lacks depth
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Bundaberg Rum labelled as whiskey

Posted12 December 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sydney, Australia
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this because it had a nice label and the monkeys sold it, and i drink bourbon whiskey. This stuff is putrid, bundaberg rum in a bottle, the cheap stuff not the good stuff. The worst spirit in a bottle i have ever purchased. I would stick to your jim beam or equivalent if you see it on the shelf its a waste of money.
Cons: taste horrible
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-21points
2of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

This is my favorite whisky! Smooth as silk.

Posted13 September 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Ballina NSW 2478, Australia
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my favorite whisky! Smooth as silk. Look forward to a quiet relaxing Monkey Shoulder at the end of the day.
Pros: smooth., smooth
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

A great whisky with fruity flavours

Posted4 July 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sydney, Australia
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A great value whisky that isn't too harsh and quite smooth.
On the nose you definitely get some fruity notes (can't really pin down specifics though because I'm really new to this whole whisky thing).
Once you sip it, my initial reaction was that you can actually taste the malt barley/other grains. Then, if you roll it around your tongue a little, you get a hint of those fruity notes (the taste
isn't as fruity as the smell though).
On the way down, it's quite smooth, but the finish isn't all that great and doesn't really leave many flavours lingering in your mouth. But, keep it mind this is a whisky under $45, so for what you're paying, I think it's a great place to start for first-time whisky drinkers (like me!)
Pros: fruit notes, smooth (for the price)
Cons: finish isn't that great
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

A delicious malted blend

Posted22 June 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sydney, Australia
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Unlike many blends that are a mix of malted scotch and neutral gran spirits, Monkey Shoulder is a unique blend of three Speyside single malts, which keeps all the rich and chewy flavours you expect from a single malt.
It also had a very amusing name, with an interesting history!
Pros: an excellent example of a blend
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Good enough for me for the price

Posted1 June 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Brisbane, Australia
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'd like to be able to drink more expensive Scotch but this blended one is good enough for me
Pros: consistent
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

great value

Posted6 April 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Canberra, Australia
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Im on my 4th bottle now and I love the initial bite and then the warmth and aftertaste as it goes down. Not as smooth as my Mackinlays, but has character and substance that belongs to a much more expensive whisky. And that's great value to me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

not what I excepted

Posted25 March 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
from werribee
Age: 50-59
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I did buy this based on previous review's. Also the bottle won me over as well. Dissapointed, first sip takes breath away. Tasted more like strong medicine. Very short after taste. Which was good as I did not enjoy at all. Even mixed could not save this drop.
Pros: nice bottle
Cons: not smooth at all
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

The Scotch for Bourbon drinkers!

Posted28 January 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Brisbane
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decided to give this a go. I did like it but, I had to except that it was more bourbon in character and after taste than I would of liked. Smooth drink when mixed with coke, on the rocks was not my cup of tea. Again I think the bourbon barrel ageing just pushed it more towards a bourbon than a triple malt Scotch. Was somewhat disappointed.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

very good

Posted21 January 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sydney
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic, easy to drink, the cork is class, can taste vanilla. sweeter than chivas not as hot as dymple
Pros: value, taste
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>