Dan Murphys Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Dan Murphys
Shop Scotch or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Monkey Shoulder Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Monkey Shoulder Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Monkey Shoulder is a premium Scotch Whisky that is steeped in history and culture and to this day is still tended by hand by the experienced Malt Men of Speyside. A smooth and rich 'triple' malt Scotch (a world first!) that has been blended from three of Speyside's finest single malts and using batches from only 27 casks to produce this fine malt whisky. A delightful nose of sherry, cinnamon baked pear, butterscotch, barley, strawberry and Bourbon vanilla which are all complemented by tangy, sweet nut, citrus, mint, oak and orange peel flavours.
Average Customer Rating:
4.184 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
36 out of 4384% ()
of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL
Review 1 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

OK but not happy with Grants

Posted4 February 2016
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Generally a nice Scotch but nothing exceptional. I bought a vile dud bottle though and it took them nearly 4 months to organise a reluctant replacement. This was the first dud bottle of Scotch I ever bought in about 40 years. The customer recovery process from Grants was the poorest I have ever experienced, I won't be buying any of their products ever again. I will be shopping at Dan Murphy's though as they are a great bunch of people and the dud bottle and poor service in no way was their problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Good entry level Scotch

Posted28 December 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne VIC, Australia
Age: 30-39
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you like Glenfiddich than Monkey Shoulder may be a good value for money alternative. Light with some fruit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

bushmills is one of our favourite

Posted20 December 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Maroubra
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
we have been shopping at your store for few years and enjoy it a lot. Lovely selections of wine, whiskey and european goodies. Have a Merry Christmas ! and Happy New Year 2016 best wishes to all the nice people working there and we will see you for sure soon Cheers
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Light and smooth

Posted15 December 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Canberra
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No idea what upset the guy below, but this is a very nice whisky. Smooth, very little burn and some nice honey to it. A good staple in my cabinet, and a regular purchase.
Pros: simple
Cons: lacks depth
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Bundaberg Rum labelled as whiskey

Posted12 December 2015
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sydney, Australia
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this because it had a nice label and the monkeys sold it, and i drink bourbon whiskey. This stuff is putrid, bundaberg rum in a bottle, the cheap stuff not the good stuff. The worst spirit in a bottle i have ever purchased. I would stick to your jim beam or equivalent if you see it on the shelf its a waste of money.
Cons: taste horrible
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-16points
2of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

This is my favorite whisky! Smooth as silk.

Posted13 September 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Ballina NSW 2478, Australia
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my favorite whisky! Smooth as silk. Look forward to a quiet relaxing Monkey Shoulder at the end of the day.
Pros: smooth., smooth
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

A great whisky with fruity flavours

Posted4 July 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sydney, Australia
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A great value whisky that isn't too harsh and quite smooth.
On the nose you definitely get some fruity notes (can't really pin down specifics though because I'm really new to this whole whisky thing).
Once you sip it, my initial reaction was that you can actually taste the malt barley/other grains. Then, if you roll it around your tongue a little, you get a hint of those fruity notes (the taste
isn't as fruity as the smell though).
On the way down, it's quite smooth, but the finish isn't all that great and doesn't really leave many flavours lingering in your mouth. But, keep it mind this is a whisky under $45, so for what you're paying, I think it's a great place to start for first-time whisky drinkers (like me!)
Pros: fruit notes, smooth (for the price)
Cons: finish isn't that great
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

A delicious malted blend

Posted22 June 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sydney, Australia
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Unlike many blends that are a mix of malted scotch and neutral gran spirits, Monkey Shoulder is a unique blend of three Speyside single malts, which keeps all the rich and chewy flavours you expect from a single malt.
It also had a very amusing name, with an interesting history!
Pros: an excellent example of a blend
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Good enough for me for the price

Posted1 June 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Brisbane, Australia
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'd like to be able to drink more expensive Scotch but this blended one is good enough for me
Pros: consistent
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

great value

Posted6 April 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Canberra, Australia
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Im on my 4th bottle now and I love the initial bite and then the warmth and aftertaste as it goes down. Not as smooth as my Mackinlays, but has character and substance that belongs to a much more expensive whisky. And that's great value to me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

not what I excepted

Posted25 March 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
from werribee
Age: 50-59
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I did buy this based on previous review's. Also the bottle won me over as well. Dissapointed, first sip takes breath away. Tasted more like strong medicine. Very short after taste. Which was good as I did not enjoy at all. Even mixed could not save this drop.
Pros: nice bottle
Cons: not smooth at all
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

The Scotch for Bourbon drinkers!

Posted28 January 2015
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Brisbane
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decided to give this a go. I did like it but, I had to except that it was more bourbon in character and after taste than I would of liked. Smooth drink when mixed with coke, on the rocks was not my cup of tea. Again I think the bourbon barrel ageing just pushed it more towards a bourbon than a triple malt Scotch. Was somewhat disappointed.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

very good

Posted21 January 2015
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sydney
Age: 30-39
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic, easy to drink, the cork is class, can taste vanilla. sweeter than chivas not as hot as dymple
Pros: value, taste
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Start of my scotch whisky travels...

Posted8 January 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Brisbane, Australia
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tongue tingling, throat warming & easy to swallow as a caramel malt milkshake...
Left a dry, oily (but not unpleasant) feeling in the mouth.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Monkey madness

Posted27 December 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Perth
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Monkey shoulder is one of those rare whiskeys which manages to fool you that it should
Have cost twice what it did.
A wonderfully blended dram and an
Exceptional bargain
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

What a surprise

Posted21 December 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Albury
Age: 50-59
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was given this as a birthday present, and honestly was not expecting much - however it is a pleasant and very enjoyable cheapie if you wait till it goes under $40. I drink my scotch neat, and this one has nice Speyside honey, coconut, apple and nutty flavours. Very easy to drink, and as a blended whisky I find it way better than the Chivas 12yr old.
Pros: easy to drink
Cons: too easy to drink
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Disappointed

Posted27 November 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Perth, WA
Age: 30-39
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
With all the hype and seeing the 'Award Winner' label for the product online, we went to a local store and bought it.
One word......disappointed. Taste nothing like what was described online. Not even smooth....taste like cheap whisky.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Not all that its cracked up to be.

Posted30 October 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne
Age: 18-19
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
With the hype that surrounds this blend; I decided to buy myself a bottle.
What I found was a dull whiskey. It was overly hot in the mouth and stomach, and lacked any deep flavour.
It didn't really mix that well either.
Pros: attractive bottle
Cons: too hot and lacking flavour
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

Amazing!

Posted24 June 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great straight of mixed, very smooth! Really enjoyed neat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Monkey Shoulder Scotch Whisky 700mL

reasonable

Posted11 June 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatar
from 58b Camoo Caves Road
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pretty good for a blend ! Not much of a finish and not a lot to experience. Empty makes a good water bottle for the fridge , so that's a plus I suppose .
Pros: good bottle
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>