Dan Murphys Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Dan Murphys
Shop Shiraz or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Jamiesons Run Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Jamiesons Run Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Jamiesons Run continue to offer amazing value for money wines that are delivering exceptional flavour. This Shiraz is filled with solid fleshy blackberries with a velvety touch of aniseed spice.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
9 out of 1182% ()
of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz
Review 1 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

best shiraz in its price range

Posted7 July 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
shep
from Perth WA
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Vintage: 2012
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beats a lot of more expensive shiraz's,great value for an everyday drink,the cab savs good too
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Value Shiraz

Posted4 April 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MaxBBredsinthetropics
from Townsville
Age: 50-59
Vintage: 2013
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If there is a Shiraz that is better value for money than this at $6.90 please let me know so I can buy some!
Sure it won't be to every ones taste, but what wine is compatible with every palate.
If you like Grange don't buy it, but if you like an easy to drink quaffable shiraz that is really cheap this is hard to beat!
Pros: value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

No better, only diffrerent to average cask wine

Posted3 October 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sunny
Vintage: 2012
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JR reds were always something one could fall back on, take a bottle along to a party without blushing. Not this one.
Heavy tannins are missing, replaced by overbearing peppery aftertaste. A bad trade-off! Some likened the taste to Dijon mustard. Not far off the mark, except if I were looking for that taste I'd look for a jar, not a bottle.
Decanting made no improvement. Too young, out of balance.
Pros: inexpensivfe to evaluate
Cons: exsessive peppery aftertaste lack of tannins
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Posted17 August 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Mont
from Brisbane
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Vintage: 2011
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A lightweight. It's sweet, lacks colour and body even for a cheap shiraz.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

The reviews are correct

Posted1 July 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
vieira4
from Sydney
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Vintage: 2012
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I took a chance and bought a half dozen box of JRBS Shiraz based on the reviews here. At under $7 a bottle not much to lose and plenty to gain. Those bottles did not hang around for more than a week and now I have found a new everyday red. Strong, bold, delightful and very enjoyable with a nice medium rare steak with dijon mustard on the side. Super with some nice vintage crumbly cheddar and crackers. A real bargain here.
Pros: strong and bold, an extreme value
Cons: perhaps too strong for some?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

I sample others but always come back to Billie

Posted21 April 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
lizzymac
from Hervey Bay Qld
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Vintage: 2012
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a mellow red that goes with just about everything. It is my choice to take out to dinner with friends as young and old appreciate its good taste and quality.
Pros: inexpensive that tastes expensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Great value for money- easy to drink

Posted17 March 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jonny
from Sydney
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Vintage: 2012
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value for money. Tried this wine after my friend purchased it and thought it was a $15 bottle of red. Pleasantly surprised when i found out it was only $7. Well balanced great with good, easy to drink
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Great Value

Posted22 August 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
belbenoit
from perth
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well structured and full -bodied wine. Punching above its weight in terms of value.
Note: It does have a distinctive flavour which the Mrs wasn't as keen on.
Pros: value, great wine for price
Cons: doesn't suit all tastes
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Great value easy-drinking shiraz

Posted4 April 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
BonVin
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was pleasantly surprised by this shiraz - smooth, robust but not overpowering, and immensely quaffable! Great with any red meat or cheese. Bargain!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Exceptional value

Posted6 January 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Pobblebonk
from Chadstone, VIC
Age: 40-49
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is hard to believe this wine is available at this price. Full bodied and flavour wines twice the price would be proud of this wine is truly excellent value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

This is my wine of the moment

Posted19 May 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lotus-Eater
from Brisbane, Australia
Age: 50-59
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I find Billy's Shadow to be well rounded full bodied and full of depth of flavour. I like it just to quaff at the end of the day but it is also really good with soft cheese and a robust meaty meal such as steak or roast lamb.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.