Dan Murphys Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Dan Murphys
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Jamiesons Run Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Jamiesons Run Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Jamiesons Run continue to offer amazing value for money wines that are delivering exceptional flavour. This Shiraz is filled with solid fleshy blackberries with a velvety touch of aniseed spice.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 989% ()
of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz
Review 1 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Bang for Buck !

Posted24 August 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
In Vino Veritas
from Joondalup
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Vintage: 2013
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It perhaps lacks complexity but more than makes up for it in terms of value for money. Spicy and sweet with lots of peppery overtones and a clean finish. Best with meaty pasta or a barbie!
Tip: much better on the 2nd night... if you can stop yourself finishing it on the first !!
(Cool name and label too)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

best shiraz in its price range

Posted7 July 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
shep
from Perth WA
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Vintage: 2012
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beats a lot of more expensive shiraz's,great value for an everyday drink,the cab savs good too
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Value Shiraz

Posted4 April 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
MaxBBredsinthetropics
from Townsville
Age: 50-59
Vintage: 2013
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If there is a Shiraz that is better value for money than this at $6.90 please let me know so I can buy some!
Sure it won't be to every ones taste, but what wine is compatible with every palate.
If you like Grange don't buy it, but if you like an easy to drink quaffable shiraz that is really cheap this is hard to beat!
Pros: value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

No better, only diffrerent to average cask wine

Posted3 October 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Sunny
Vintage: 2012
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JR reds were always something one could fall back on, take a bottle along to a party without blushing. Not this one.
Heavy tannins are missing, replaced by overbearing peppery aftertaste. A bad trade-off! Some likened the taste to Dijon mustard. Not far off the mark, except if I were looking for that taste I'd look for a jar, not a bottle.
Decanting made no improvement. Too young, out of balance.
Pros: inexpensivfe to evaluate
Cons: exsessive peppery aftertaste lack of tannins
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

I sample others but always come back to Billie

Posted21 April 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
lizzymac
from Hervey Bay Qld
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Vintage: 2012
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a mellow red that goes with just about everything. It is my choice to take out to dinner with friends as young and old appreciate its good taste and quality.
Pros: inexpensive that tastes expensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Great value for money- easy to drink

Posted17 March 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Jonny
from Sydney
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Vintage: 2012
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value for money. Tried this wine after my friend purchased it and thought it was a $15 bottle of red. Pleasantly surprised when i found out it was only $7. Well balanced great with good, easy to drink
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Great Value

Posted22 August 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
belbenoit
from perth
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well structured and full -bodied wine. Punching above its weight in terms of value.
Note: It does have a distinctive flavour which the Mrs wasn't as keen on.
Pros: value, great wine for price
Cons: doesn't suit all tastes
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Great value easy-drinking shiraz

Posted4 April 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
BonVin
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was pleasantly surprised by this shiraz - smooth, robust but not overpowering, and immensely quaffable! Great with any red meat or cheese. Bargain!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

This is my wine of the moment

Posted19 May 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
Lotus-Eater
from Brisbane, Australia
Age: 50-59
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I find Billy's Shadow to be well rounded full bodied and full of depth of flavour. I like it just to quaff at the end of the day but it is also really good with soft cheese and a robust meaty meal such as steak or roast lamb.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.