Dan Murphys Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Jamiesons Run Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Jamiesons Run Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Jamiesons Run continue to offer amazing value for money wines that are delivering exceptional flavour. This Shiraz is filled with solid fleshy blackberries with a velvety touch of aniseed spice.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
14 out of 1688% ()
of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz
Review 1 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

A Good Trial

Posted15 May 2016
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Vintage: 2015
Enjoyment 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We are quite fond of Jamieson's Run and gave Billy's Shadow a try. It is a good quaffer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Not to shabby at less than $7 a bottle

Posted27 March 2016
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Brisbane
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Vintage: 2015
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I read the reviews on this one before ordering half a dozen. I was looking for a cheaper red that tastes OK for an "everyday at home" red. I have previously bought Billy's Sem Sav Blanc for my wife which she likes, so I thought what the heck. I was a little surprised with it and would not look out of place if brought out in front of friends. At $6.65 a bottle, it is good value either by itself or with a bit of cheese or nice steak. I have always bought something around the $10 to $15 range for an everyday red, but this one is a real bargain and not too bad to boot. The only concern is how long will it be before JR or DM reads these reviews and starts jacking up the price. I have seen this happen with other wines when they realise they have a well accepted cheapie in the market place.
Pros: don't buy if you are a wine snob
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Great value.

Posted20 March 2016
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Mid north S.A.
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Vintage: 2015
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have been buying this wine for quite a few years, to enjoy with friends. I would recommend this wine as it is made by a good wine maker Jamieson Run.
Pros: good value
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

best value for money wine

Posted1 November 2015
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Vintage: 2015
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the cab sav is the best wine from billy's shadow. it is the best value for money cab sav on the market.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Bang for Buck !

Posted24 August 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Joondalup
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Vintage: 2013
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It perhaps lacks complexity but more than makes up for it in terms of value for money. Spicy and sweet with lots of peppery overtones and a clean finish. Best with meaty pasta or a barbie!
Tip: much better on the 2nd night... if you can stop yourself finishing it on the first !!
(Cool name and label too)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

best shiraz in its price range

Posted7 July 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Perth WA
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Vintage: 2012
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beats a lot of more expensive shiraz's,great value for an everyday drink,the cab savs good too
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Value Shiraz

Posted4 April 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Townsville
Age: 50-59
Vintage: 2013
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If there is a Shiraz that is better value for money than this at $6.90 please let me know so I can buy some!
Sure it won't be to every ones taste, but what wine is compatible with every palate.
If you like Grange don't buy it, but if you like an easy to drink quaffable shiraz that is really cheap this is hard to beat!
Pros: value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

No better, only diffrerent to average cask wine

Posted3 October 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
Vintage: 2012
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JR reds were always something one could fall back on, take a bottle along to a party without blushing. Not this one.
Heavy tannins are missing, replaced by overbearing peppery aftertaste. A bad trade-off! Some likened the taste to Dijon mustard. Not far off the mark, except if I were looking for that taste I'd look for a jar, not a bottle.
Decanting made no improvement. Too young, out of balance.
Pros: inexpensivfe to evaluate
Cons: exsessive peppery aftertaste lack of tannins
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Posted17 August 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Brisbane
Age: 60+
Gender: Male
Vintage: 2011
Enjoyment 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A lightweight. It's sweet, lacks colour and body even for a cheap shiraz.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

The reviews are correct

Posted1 July 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sydney
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Vintage: 2012
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I took a chance and bought a half dozen box of JRBS Shiraz based on the reviews here. At under $7 a bottle not much to lose and plenty to gain. Those bottles did not hang around for more than a week and now I have found a new everyday red. Strong, bold, delightful and very enjoyable with a nice medium rare steak with dijon mustard on the side. Super with some nice vintage crumbly cheddar and crackers. A real bargain here.
Pros: strong and bold, an extreme value
Cons: perhaps too strong for some?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

I sample others but always come back to Billie

Posted21 April 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Hervey Bay Qld
Age: 60+
Gender: Female
Vintage: 2012
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a mellow red that goes with just about everything. It is my choice to take out to dinner with friends as young and old appreciate its good taste and quality.
Pros: inexpensive that tastes expensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Great value for money- easy to drink

Posted17 March 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Sydney
Age: 20-29
Gender: Male
Vintage: 2012
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value for money. Tried this wine after my friend purchased it and thought it was a $15 bottle of red. Pleasantly surprised when i found out it was only $7. Well balanced great with good, easy to drink
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Great Value

Posted22 August 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from perth
Age: 40-49
Gender: Male
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well structured and full -bodied wine. Punching above its weight in terms of value.
Note: It does have a distinctive flavour which the Mrs wasn't as keen on.
Pros: value, great wine for price
Cons: doesn't suit all tastes
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Great value easy-drinking shiraz

Posted4 April 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
Enjoyment 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was pleasantly surprised by this shiraz - smooth, robust but not overpowering, and immensely quaffable! Great with any red meat or cheese. Bargain!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

Exceptional value

Posted6 January 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Chadstone, VIC
Age: 40-49
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is hard to believe this wine is available at this price. Full bodied and flavour wines twice the price would be proud of this wine is truly excellent value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Jamiesons Run Billy's Shadow Shiraz

This is my wine of the moment

Posted19 May 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatar
from Brisbane, Australia
Age: 50-59
Gender: Female
Enjoyment 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I find Billy's Shadow to be well rounded full bodied and full of depth of flavour. I like it just to quaff at the end of the day but it is also really good with soft cheese and a robust meaty meal such as steak or roast lamb.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.